Favelas


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo » São Paulo
June 29th 2008
Published: June 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Orphanage The Orphanage The Orphanage

Not the best picture but this is one of the buildings at the orphanage. It was difficult to get all of the property in one shot
Today I was able to get off of work early because we (the family and myself) wanted to spend the afternoon at a nearby orphanage. Neil is good friends with the man that runs the orphanage so we drove about an hour outside Sao Paulo to just spend the afternoon playing with the kids and allow let me have “English” time with some American who also live there. It was a nice afternoon and the property that the orphanage is on is beautiful. Here are some pictures.

On our way back from the orphanage we turned onto a random road into a neighborhood of “favelas.” Favelas are the types of home you see in those Save the Children infomercials where there are clusters of dilapidated cinder block structures with often just planks of plywood nailed up or sheets hung to patch the holes. When you look in the alley ways of these neighborhoods you often see 10 doorways all only feet apart because most of these homes are only made up of one or two rooms. It really is by far the worst living conditions I have ever seen. No descriptions I give truly paint the picture of how terrible they are. So a more sad “what I have learned about Sao Paulo” factoid, I have learned what favelas are. I have also that no matter who the people are, no human being deserves to live like that.


Advertisement



30th June 2008

Favelas
Remember me telling you about Izuara and the living conditions and how happy she was because she had found Jesus and she said she had everything now! Standing in her favela and seeing her joy was a moment I will never forget for the rest of my life.
30th June 2008

Hollllaaaa!
Head - glad to see your pics finally! Sounds like you are adjusting nicely and you have a great family to stay with. Let's be honest how many churros have you eaten....come on....you can tell me. Well, nothing new here.....Cali was fun but we missed you a lot. We toasted to you quite often on the trip. Okay - love you - Jose sends his love too! - C

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb