2014 World Cup - Day 7 - Travel to Blumenau


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Santa Catarina » Blumenau
June 26th 2014
Published: June 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Porto Alegre to Blumenau


Today was our last day in Porto Alegre, and it rained most of the day albeit very lightly. We hung out at the hotel until noon as I was booking the remaining flights on my itinerary. Now that I know where I have to go, I decided to get this bit out of the way. I also emailed my hotels in Brasilia and Sao Paulo asking for a date change and cancellation respectively. The last little bit I have to do is find a place to stay in Belo Horizonte, and I'm hoping the email I sent will do the trick.

Once we checked out, we walked to a nearby restaurant and ate is really nice buffet lunch while watching the USA vs Germany game. Even though a tie would satisfy both teams, it turned out to be an interesting and eventful game. Germany won 1-0 , finished tops in the group and are now on Brazil's side of the bracket.

Once the game was over, we took a bus to the airport. Finding the bus turned out to be a bit tricky as the instructions we were given were a bit vague, but once we found the right bus stop, it was a piece of cake. We were the only ones on the bus and we chatted with the driver all the way to the airport, mostly about the World Cup. I think he was quite happy to have some company. Haha

At the airport, I ran into a friend of my cousin Marco's who I hadn't seen also since 2001, so we chatted for a bit before boarding our flight. The 1-hour flight back to Navegantes was a bit turbulent due to the rain that was coming down in the region. Things calmed down half-way through the flight but they cancelled serving drinks and snacks. Luiz and I laughed when the pilot announced that we were going to land 20 minutes early...seems like he turned on the jets and left them on for a bit looking to get as far away from the turbulence quickly. It's all good.

We took a bus back to Blumenau but had to wait an hour at the airport for another flight to arrive. I'm now at my aunt & uncle's place and will have a busy day tomorrow renewing my Brazilian ID, having lunch with friends and seeing my grandmothers.



My flight out of here will leave on Sunday afternoon at 5pm, so I have about 2.5 days down here to see everyone.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb