Greeting again from Bluemau


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Santa Catarina » Blumenau
January 19th 2006
Published: January 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello Again.. from Sunny, warm, tropical... Blumenau, Santa Catarina.
I have been a little busy and have not had time to get online and due this blogg things so I apologize. I finally moved from the wooden card board box type house where I stayed for 2 days with the maid and her son that worked at the hotel. They were very nice people. And asked me if I wanted to stay there until I found an apartment here. So i swallowed my pride and stayed with them. The only thing I did not like were the Mosquitos and them asking me everyday if I wanted some Maconha ( Weed).

Can you believe that the Mom and the Son smoked Maconha ( weed) together? I know people wanna be close to there kids but I call that a little crazy. I asked the son Gabriel when he started smoking and he said he started smoking when he was 12, so i figure the Mom actually got the son into this behavior. Some people actually think there helping when they are not. They both have the same routine... come home and smoke a cigarrete then they go for the mocanha.... The last day i was out with one of Gabriels friends helping look for a place. I finally found a really nice apartment called Ilhe de Crete ( Island of Cret.) It´s a really nice apartment. I have 3 new roomates. they are all studying medicine and only 2 of them are actually there.

The apartment is on the 6 andar (floor) Its really nice. It has soft wood floors and is fully furnished it even has a tv ( no its not mine) but it will help me learn portuguese more rapidly if i have time to watch it. The apartment has 3 bathrooms and a kitchen also a laundry room and a maids quaters or room for a potential maid. Here in brazil its harder to have a maid and many people just have a maid come and clean once a week.

Last night i had to wash my clothes i thought they had a washing machine that i was used to. It was not so lol I had to put my clothes in this machine with soap and then fill it with a hose. let it run for 20 minutes then take my clothes out and soak them in a bucket with rinse in it. I guess you call if fabrik softner. Then I had to ring out the clothes and then hang them on this rack. then pull a cord that maid the rack lift up into the air almost to the ceiling. Its called drying rack its pretty cool. ahhhh Hard work... I tell you.... lol

I finally figured out that I am really close to downtown and I dont even have to take a bus. today i walked here it was about a 15 minute walk. I guess i thought it was further away but im glad its close because that will save me money since Im a little broke.

This week a went to many language institutes and took English and Spanish test. I found out that i am very fluent in Spanish almost as much as English. I also had some cards made for me to give private lesson while I am waiting to get a regular job. I met with several directors and they all seem like they wanna hire me. But they dont actually start classes until the end of March.... So i need to do something to get cash before that so i can pay for my new apartment.

I will include apicture of it so you can see the card he made its really cool. I live only 30 minutes from the beach. But I have not been yet because I have not been finacially able too yet. I hope to go after i start working and get my first check. Yesterday as i taking the bus from downtown to my apartment. I saw something called a Cabivara its the worlds biggest rodent! I saw 3 in total with their small cria or child. It was really cool to see one of these things in real life in the middle of a city the size of Ann Arbor Michigan.

I hope that all of you are having a great week. Please in your comments tell me whats new with you. How you are doing and things like that. If you know others who may wanna read send them the link. I also found a church to go to I asked him on the phone a series of questions I bet you know which questions I asked them. But I missed the pastor who came to get me becuase i got lost. Long story lol.... well i gotta run...

http://www.polmil.sp.gov.br/unidades/cpfm/foto2bpfm/capivara.jpg

Please copy and paste to see this awsome animal I saw!!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb