Rio - Day Three - Marcelo


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro
July 20th 2006
Published: July 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Marcelo Marcelo Marcelo

I know Marcelo from living with him at International-House. He went to the UofA studying design. I was talking to him over msn and found out he was from Niteroi, which is only across the bay from Rio, so he invited me to a party in Lapa and let me crash at his house.
Saturday evening I met up with my friend Marcelo. He actually lived in Edmonton last year at International House studying design at the UofA. We talked over msn and made plans to meet up with eachother. I think it´s pretty amazing when you can meet up with someone you actually know on the other side of the world, on Copacabana beach nontheless.

Marcelo invited me to his friends birthday party happening in Lapa district. We first met up with his buddies Guilherme and Frede and had some beers at this local watering hole. One thing I like about Brasil is that drinks are cheap and you can buy/drink them in the street. Anyways, after a few wobbly pops we walked to the party. They had rented out a bar and it was enterance by invitation only. Luckly Marcelo put my name on the list.

The party was great! I danced a little Samba, met lots of beautiful girls and generally had a good time. Around 5:30 we managed to make our way back to Marcelos appartment in Niteroi, which is just across the bay from Rio.

The next day (we slept until 1:30) we headed to the local
Marcelo´s friend, GuilhermeMarcelo´s friend, GuilhermeMarcelo´s friend, Guilherme

He went to the U of Calgary last year for 1 semester. I like this picture because we are in focus, but the people behind us are all blurry.
fish market. We met Guil and Frede again. They go there every sunday to eat a lot of fish and shrimp and drink more beer. It was very cool... you buy the fish you want to eat on the main floor and then go upstars where there are lots of resturants that cook the fish you bought. We was so good!

Marcelo showed me around Niteroi a bit... some musium with cool architecture and finally their favorite bar called "the smell of the sea" right on the bay with a beautiful view of Rio. We drank some more beer (we drank a lot of beer that weekend) and enjoyed the rest of the day there.

Guil invited us to his place to play some FIFA World Cup Soccer on his PS2. They get really into this game, even doing a draft!! They said I played pretty good, but I think my NHL 2002 skills rubbed off a little (Those games are all the same).

The next day I caught the bus back to Belo Horizonte (7 Hours). I even made it home in time to make my capoeira class! Good-bye Rio de Janeiro, but I´ll be back
Lapa neighborhood in RioLapa neighborhood in RioLapa neighborhood in Rio

This Trolly bridge is famous. I didn´t go on it, but if you take the train you can hang outside... very dangerous. This was the location of the party.
August 17th to meet Andrea!






Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Marcelo´s friend, FredeMarcelo´s friend, Frede
Marcelo´s friend, Frede

Frede lived all over the place including the US, Turkey, and a few others...
Capi Vodka... My new favorite drinkCapi Vodka... My new favorite drink
Capi Vodka... My new favorite drink

ice, vodka, sugar, and lime... shaken
Snack timeSnack time
Snack time

We hit up this snack shack before going home
FISH FISH
FISH

our first batch of fried fish from the fish market... Ummmmm!!!
SHRIMPSHRIMP
SHRIMP

our second batch of fried shrimp from the fish market... Ummmmm!!!
smell of the sea barsmell of the sea bar
smell of the sea bar

the favorite hang-out place of Marcelo and his friends


22nd July 2006

gimme some
let´s hook up with some of that fried fish and beer. it is neat to hook up with a friend on the other side of the world, like you said inthe first paragraph of your entry. just like we´re going to!

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0874s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb