Ilha Grande


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Ilha Grande
November 28th 2008
Published: November 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I finally left that house of sin that was my hostel in Rio and headed to Ilha Grande, a tropical island, a hundred and something kms from Rio. I love it here. I realise that no matter how beautiful a city is - and Rio is arguably one of the most beautiful cities in the world - it will never make me feel the same sense of peace and happiness that I get in smaller places.

Actually, the island is anything but small - Ilha Grande means big island - as it has over 80 beaches, but the actual town is tiny and quiet and the rest is just sand and green. I only have to hope that the weather will be nice tomorrow and that I will be able to explore all this natural beauty.

Today I only had time to go for dinner and then to play pool with the locals, communicating with them in my poor Portuguese. Please not that I am using the word "poor" as opposed to "inexistent" which I have used in my previous entries. This indicates a considerable improvement. But I am too tired now to make the effort, so I am back at the hostel where English is the official language as it is populated entrirely by gringos. They are playing guitar and drinking caipirinha, I am going to join in.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb