Spotted eagle ray day


Advertisement
Published: July 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

DaniDaniDani

The Spanish Philosopher
Today I caught the first whiff of the next part of the trip. I still have five days left of the stay here. I got up made coffee, fed the six or so cats that live here then sat around with Dani to close to midday.
Last night George invited us over for a beer. Turned out he had two excellent guitars at his house and a set of drums. I hungrily grabbed a guitar and basically played an accompaniment to the everning´s wide ranging and somewhat abstract conversations. When the conversation changed direction, I changed the music to fit the new subject. After a few hours of this, fueled by the bizarre and lively life stories, especially of George, I realised that I could have written an entire rock opera if I only had my journal and a tape recorder!
I was going to write a song for Boy, but the mood and tone wasn´t right. I expect that´s going to have to wait until the moment I´m back home in the apartment without him.
The evening went late - until about 3:00am, hence the somewhat slow, dazed, and confused start to the day.
We ended up going to Praia do Sanchos, the finest beach in Brazil, according to the experts, and discovering the best visibility in the water since I´ve been here. The highlight of the day was following a beautiful spotted eagle ray for a while, the first I´ve seen here. It´s wingspan was between eight and nine feet. Gorgeous. It swam back and forth over one particularly lovely section of the rock face. We could see for miles today. Dani said it was like an aquarium and he was right! I was trying to coax the beastie towards the surface and us, but the Ray was clearly busy about its own business.
The snorkelling was magnificent all day, but after two long swims, the sun beating down, and two long walks/climbs we both got tired. A tasty meal at groovy ´Flamboyant´ restaurant and a caiperinha and two beers added to the tiredness.
However, as 11:30pm approaches, along with a second wind, and Gabi and her friend head out for the Island´s big night out, Dani and I are debating whether to go out, or crash out, and get up early for some
hopefully excellent snorkelling in the harbor, where yesterday we saw the most enormous school of fish I´ve seen here, as well as the really cool wrecked ship I swam around the other day.
First thing in the morning is supposed to be the best for snorkelling, and with the excellent visibility, the possibility of whales and dolphins, it´s a tough call: if we go out now we can forget about the morning.
Tough life out here on paradise island, eh?
See you on the flypaper.
mike


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Giant plastic MorayGiant plastic Moray
Giant plastic Moray

The moray I saw was like this, only larger, more flourescent, and critically, alive and moving!
Another sunsetAnother sunset
Another sunset

From the port


11th July 2008

Oh ... the caipirinhas! We still have some very special cachaca we brought back with us those many years ago; perhaps we'll share. Gorgeous descriptions of the sea and sea life along with the photos...we're glad you're sharing those. And you found guitars to boot! We spent a bit of time on Sunday at our favorite spot on the ocean on Cape Ann where the water is also quite clear but still chilled a la New England. Some divers and snorkelers caught themselves plentiful meals of flounder, lobsters, and mussels. Don tried to fish out our dinner too, but no creature took the bait...until next time.
11th July 2008

Question?
About how big are the lizards that eat funny little tailess rodents? And how big are the funny little tailess rodents? In the photo, the latter look like bunnies with no tails and small pointy ears. They appear to be adorable and not very rodent-like at all. (although I can't see their teeth....which could possibly be rodent-like scary). Cute....or no? just wondering.... suze
11th July 2008

Lizards and rodents
The rodents are extremely cute and extremely agile, about the size of rabbits. They leap around the rocks and cliff faces with incredible speed. The lizard in the pic is about three foot long. I guess they grow quite a bit bigger. mike
11th July 2008

Cape Ann
I love it out on Cape Ann. I´ve never tried snorkelling there, but it sounds like I should! Definitely yes on the caiperinha front! mike

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0801s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb