Struggling to stay in Brazil


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Paraná » Foz do Iguaçu
April 24th 2009
Published: June 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I crossed the border to Brazil with Gareth, a fellow Englishman who has achieved the rare feat of managing to get to more footy games than me over the last few weeks. Shortly after dropping our things at the hostel, we decided to venture over to Paraguay, making this a 3 country day, an achievement I managed once before on this trip when I went from El Salvador to Nicaragua via Honduras. You remember that don´t you faithful readers?

Unless you want to, there is no need to get your passport stamped as you cross the Puente del Amistad between Brazil and Paraguay, so being as we were going back to Foz that evening we spent a day technically as illegal immigrants. Ciudad del Este was a bit of a shock after spending 4 months in the relative civilisation of Chile, Argentina and Uruguay, and I had funny reminders of earlier places on my trip when I was jumped upon by touts when I went to the bus station to enquire about buses to Acunscion when I legally return to Paraguay. Ciudad del Este is where Brazilians and Argentinians come to do their shopping, as its so much cheaper than in their own countries, and the main street is just one continuous market, where we were offered items ranging from expensive cameras to toy helicopters. Unsurprisingly, I crossed back to Brazil without any new additions for my backpack.

As well as the Iguazu Falls, Foz is also home to the Itaipu Dam, the largest hydroelectric dam in the world. After having studied it in year 8 geography, and being as I am apparently a qualified electronic engineer, it seemed churlish not to go and pay a visit. During the visit, I got a bus which took me over the dam onto the Paraguayan side, and the guide made it official that on my second day in Brazil, I was once again in Paraguay. I was rather impressed by the size of the dam, and that the force of the water can be upto 10 times that of the Iguazu Falls. I was even more impressed that I managed to blag student status, which entitled me to a sound and light show at the dam that evening for just 15p. Bargainous. But first I had some waterfalls to deal with.

There is much less to do on the Brazilian side of the falls compared to the Argentinian, with just one walk compared to 4 or 5 over the border. However, it is my esteemed opinion that the views on this side were the more impressive, with one particular viewpoint offering a spectacular vista right up the Devils Throat, complete with rainbows. What this side does have in common with the other is the presence of mutated coatis, who have got so used to being fed by tourists that now they try and grab anything they can. It was such a pleasure to see normal coatis in the Pantanal a few weeks later (but you´ll have to wait for that story).

The evening took me back to the Itaipu Dam, for the sound and light show. We were greeted by the hosts, dressed upto the nines in their tuxedos, who gave a little speech and put on a promotional video before the main event. In possibly one of the cheesiest things I have ever seen, the dam lit up bit by bit, accompanied by the ubiquitous dramatic music. I recommend anyone that needs a laugh look it up on youtube. That said, it did look really good all lit up, reflecting in the Parana river, so its not all bad.

I spent one more day than I intended in Foz, as I´d heard that Ascunscion is not the best place to arrive on a Sunday, as it is completely deserted. I used the time to visit the bird park, as I´d heard good things about it. To be honest, I was only going there to see the toucans, and I spent a good 2 hours watching these funny critters. I particulary enjoyed the way they ate, picking a little bit of food up in their beaks, before throwing it in the air and catching it in their mouth. I can do that too (minus beak).

As is traditional, Monday followed Sunday, and I picked up my bags and walked over the Puente del Amistad for the second time, this time stopping to officialy enter Paraguay. Although I´d enjoyed the attractions around Foz, I hated not being able to speak the lingo, so it was nice to get back into a Spanish speaking country. I now had a week to improve my Portugese before my next dalliance with Brazil.

Oh, and before you ask, yes, I still think that buying the toy helicopter was a wise move. You never know when it could come in handy.

Stewart


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Annoying signAnnoying sign
Annoying sign

The barrier wasn't walking very fast either
Big water slideBig water slide
Big water slide

minus water


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb