Some little waterfalls


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Paraná » Foz do Iguaçu
June 13th 2007
Published: June 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me in the ChopperMe in the ChopperMe in the Chopper

I was in the front seat for the whole ride. How did I manage to get the best seat available.
We left Paraty adn headed to the falls. And by little water falls I mean the biggest in the world Iguazu Falls. They were amazing. We went took a helicopter ride over the falls which was incredible. It gave you a really good perspective on how big they actually are. We walked around the Brazillian side of the falls on the first day and went out onto the platforms and stuff and just checked out the falls. They are amazing. I can't even describe how big they are. I was awestruck for most of the day. I think I took a million photos haha but that is ok. I will just have to employ the snap and delete tactic. The second day we went over to the Argentinian side of the falls. On this side you are more on the top of the falls if that makes sense. We walked out over The Devil´s throat which was cool. The noise was so loud and you could get a really good idea of how powerful the water was from up there. We headed back off of the platforms and went on a little dingy float down the river (much like the
The View from Over the FallsThe View from Over the FallsThe View from Over the Falls

For real they are big... see look.
drunk floats we take down the river in calgary only less beer and more lifejackets). We then jumped into these huge motor boats and went IN teh waterfalls in the boats. We got so wet but my trsuty HellyTech pants kept me dry. It was pretty cold but once we were out in the water, it was hard to notice anything but the magnitude of the fact that you were IN the middle of the biggest water falls in the world. We went out to a show that night which had a whole bunch of traditional dances from Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay. There was a massive buffet and I took full advantage of it. The one thing I have noticed being down here is that there is a LOT Of salt in the food. For those of you who know my salt consumption habits, you will know that this is a very bold statement. There also isn´t much black pepper (dad, you wouldn´t make it down here). The show was cool but there was this big man/woman thing that was dancing in a thong carnival outfit and her nipple was showing for about 20 minutes. I felt really bad for
Hangin out on the platfromHangin out on the platfromHangin out on the platfrom

There was the prettiest rainbow ever right there. You could see the start and the end of it.
her cause when she noticed she started crying on stage. Some of us went out after the show. We went to a local club which is supposed to be a really bumping place to be however we were there on an off night I guess and we were the ONLY people there. It wasn't so bad though becuase we got to pick the music and we didn't have to wait in line for a drink or to use the bathroom. We drank these drinks that came in the biggest glass I have ever seen and it was made of beer, a really strong brazilian liquor, limes and sugar. Let´s just say we had no problem at all creating the party in that place after a few of them. We went to Paraguay the next day for a shopping trip. There was so much black market stuff and so much cheap crap there. And electronics were really cheap. It was really sad though becuase the level of poverty was very obviously high. I don´t think I have ever been harrassed so much by street peddlars in my life, and strangely enough they were all selling socks. Strange. After that we were
The Brazillian Side of the FallsThe Brazillian Side of the FallsThe Brazillian Side of the Falls

One of the BAGILLION that I took.
outta there and off to our next destination.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

One the boatOne the boat
One the boat

And I am off on the boat.
Captain AliciaCaptain Alicia
Captain Alicia

Then they let me drive the boat.... hahaha no they didn´t. They were friendly but not crazy!
Sharing a SnuggleSharing a Snuggle
Sharing a Snuggle

Laura and I have a little snuggs session on the falls
BIG DRINKSBIG DRINKS
BIG DRINKS

I think this picture should give you a good idea of how big these things actually were.
We had to shareWe had to share
We had to share

We just kept ordering them when they got empty. We ordered them with 4 straws everytime.


24th June 2007

Re; Trip to Water falls
''Fantastic pictures'' Loved the one where you are all drinking out of the one big glass. Looking good!!
5th July 2007

Glad to hear you are enjoying yourself and seeing a lot of great sights! I have to admit I'm hoping to see all BAGILLION of your waterfall pictures - I learned about it in some Spanish class and have put it on my list of things to see one day!! Realistically though I think we are all living vicariously through you right now!! Talk to you soon!! :-)

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb