Jam Session


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Minas Gerais » Belo Horizonte
July 12th 2006
Published: July 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Frede invited me to watch a group of his friends who get together and play Forró (pronounced Foho) which is a specific type of Brasilian music played in the northeast. He refuses to call themselves a band, just some friends who play together, but they are playing at this party on friday and again next weekend.

They rent time at this music studio where they can practice in a sound-proof room. I was sitting through almost 3 hours of Forró and then they bust into "have you ever seen the rain" by CCR. Of course I took to the mic.

After we went to this sandwich joint called Kibocão and chowed down. Rick would love it here because they put what is the equivalent to potato chips in their burgers. Burger barron, eat your heart out!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

KibocãoKibocão
Kibocão

burger joint


14th July 2006

Now I have CCR in head! My favorite CCR lines come from the beginning of "Someday Never Comes." Quoting them outside the context of their sublime melody normally wouldn't do them justice, but anyone who knows the song will read them to the tune: First thing I remember was asking papa, why, For there were many things I didn't know And daddy always smiled And took me by the hand, Saying, someday you'll understand
18th July 2006

Well Done
Finally had a second to read up on your adventures and two words: Well Done. On more than one occasion when I was in Brazil, I remember missing my bus on Purpose to admire the "scenery". Will you get to check out any beaches? Same scenery - clothing = a very good thing. Here is a project for your next 'slow' day at work. Who is the most famous Brazilian Hero? Ask around...it was Wilhelm Tell in die Schewiz. Enjoy! Chantelle and I head up north this Saturday so we're counting sleeps, trying to pack and are getting pretty Excited! Ciao

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb