Capoeira


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Minas Gerais » Belo Horizonte
July 11th 2006
Published: July 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Capoeira 1Capoeira 1Capoeira 1

That´s me doing the handstand on my first day... notice the ripped abs
I was looking for something to do in the evenings after work. You know, I am sitting at a computer all day and eating copius amounts of rice and beans, thus getting fat. Well not quite, but anyways, I first heard about Ju Jitsu, a Brasilian martial art based on grappling and joint locking. There is a gym close to my home where they teach this, but it is only offered during the lunch hour and it was going to be expensive for me to become a member of this gym. You might have heard of Ju Jitsu if you watch UFC (utlimate fighting championship)... in other words, don´t mess around!!!

Last weekend though a lady I met suggested I try capoeira, also a Brasilian martial art. Capoeira was developed by the slaves of Brazil as a way to resist their oppressors, secretly practice their art, transmit their culture, and lift their spirits (cudos to wikipedia for that last sentence). Luckly there is another gym about 1 km from my home where they teach capoeira, so after work on monday I went there with a friend to check it out. It was very cool. They put on this music with
Capoeira 2Capoeira 2Capoeira 2

We then moved to the street and I accomplished my first full round-house.
a nice rythem and start to mock fight eachother using mostly kicks, cartwheels and other acrobatic manuvers. I met the instructor, Guto, and told him I´d be there tuesday for the next class.

So the next day I show up and away we go. I learned a few basic things... Ginga is the basic back and forth movement, Cocorinha is a defensive duck to avoid a kick, and Meia Lua de Frente, Queizada, Armada and Martelo are all different kicks. The small studio where they practice has cheap tile flooring and capoeira is played with bare feet so you can imagine the blisters I know have on my feet. I had to walk the 1km home on my heels!! Today I bought some tape from the drugstore so I should be good to go.

Advertisement



13th July 2006

very cool - a decent substitute for samba lessons.
14th July 2006

Fantastic. I always knew my baby brother was even cooler than Francine and Chantelle. What's next on your schedule to try? America's most Talented?? Leanne

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb