Prayer Group


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So Monday I went out with a friend from work, Frederico. He plays keyboard with some bands here in Belo and I´m always asking him to take me to one of his show so I can see him play. I went with him after work to watch him play, but on the way there the car was over heating. We had to pull over on the freeway to check out what was wrong. The fan in front of the radiator wasn´t working. We waited a while for the engine to cool down and then had to make our way to the nearest gas station to see if we could fix it. The traffic was bumper to bumper, but we decided to see if we could make it because we were so close. We were running late, the band was starting in 5 minutes. When we pulled up to the location, I rushed in with the keyboard to give to the band to set up while Frede found a place to park.

It was an outdoor arrangement with about 500 people or so in the audience. When I got there, there was a guy speaking to the crowd while the band was playing softly in the background. Just as Frede arrived and put his hands to the keyboard the band kicked in right at his part. It was perfect timing, like he was there the whole time. The people were raising their hands in the air and singing gospel music. It was then that I realized that Frede had taken me to a prayer group of his which meets every monday.

Soon Frede was waving for me to come up. At the beginning, all the new people who have never been to this prayer group come to the front so they are welcomed by everyone else. Frede wanted me to come up to the front, but not on stage. Well I was up there already, so the man talking gave me a special introduction in portuguese...

"We have a special friend of Frede here today from Canada! I want you to feel welcome here and know that there is a lot of love here and God is with you......." And Frede is frantically trying to translate all of this quickly because the man is talking so fast. In the end the man wanted me to speak to everyone and tell them what I thought of my first experience here and Frede would translate for me. Well, everyone clapped their hands and welcomed me. A man in the front row even offered his chair for me.

I went to the seat a little embarassed and right away we all joined hands and sweyed to the music.

Advertisement



6th July 2006

Hilarious - laugh out loud hilarious. Reminds me of another friend whose parents told him the tv repair guy would come while they were gone for the day. So when two well dressed guys came to the door, my friend, who had just woken up, didn't hesitate to let them in and show them his living room, only to realize that they were Jehovah Witnesses.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0714s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb