Week Eleven...


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Lençóis
November 20th 2009
Published: November 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so I know its been ages since I last wrote, but life here has been crazy.

I went on a trek called Grutas, where I went to a waterfall, a pitch black cave full of stalactites and stalagmites (I´m sure I´ve spelt those wrong) of varying shapes and sizes, went snorkling in the bluest water you´ve ever seen and then climbed the poster child Morro do Pai Inacio, the heart of the Chapada. It was an awesome day, despite getting eaten alive by mosquitos.

Work is difficult as ever, I´ve been really tired and stressed with it lately, but a group from the US came last Monday to volunteer and they cleaned the whole project and helped me with lots of tasks so that was amazing.

Joana, one on the old volunteers, is back for a surprise visit so I´m having a lovely time. This weekend is ´Semana de conciencia negra´- black consciousness/awareness week, so there are tons of events going on in town. The film Besouro will be shown for the first time in Lençois, so that will be crazy.

There is also the bautizado - the event where people who do capoeira can progress to the next level (like belts in karate) so that will be a lot of fun to watch.

All in all, I´m ok, just veeeeeery tired. I´ve got a busy weekend ahead of me, so I´ll leave it here. More soon.

xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb