Manaus is yummy!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Amazonas » Manaus
April 3rd 2007
Published: April 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I think I got bit by something in the jungle. I remember something picking my ankle but didn’t think much about it. When I got to my hotel, I forgot to mention yesterday that I started getting a small patch of hives on my hands. It happens to me a lot so I didn’t think anything of it. Today though, I woke up with my hands so swollen I couldn’t make fists or hold a pen. I figured I took my meds and some aspirin and eventually it’d go away. SO I checked out of my hotel and met up with my tour guides for the day. WOW. Finally, ppl my age and cute 😉 they were awesome…Fabricio and Michael. They took me to the Amazon Theatre, that’s absolutely gorgeous with an interesting history. Manaus itself is very cool. I’d love to come here and go to some of the disco techs sometime. We went to see a house that was a German rubber baron’s back in the day. It is being renovated so I couldn’t go in, but the outside was very cool. I was just having a blast with my guides. They spoke very good English and were just funny. Michael took me into the Market which was very cool. And he knew a guy who make herbal meds, and I asked him to help me find something for my allergies. He did. It was a soap and oil. By this time, my feet were swelling and my sandals were starting to hurt. But I’d have to wait until I get to Salvador to use my new meds since I have to bathe in them…The 2 guys took me out to a BBQ restaurant once again, and it was (as always) so yummy! There cannot be any Brazilian vegetarians, I swear! My guides said there are in fact, not many. Sadly, after lunch I had to get to the airport. I did get pix with my lovely guides and kisses on the cheek (and some email addresses…). I didn’t know the flights were that long and once I got off the plane in Sao Paulo before my flight to Salvador, my hands and feet and face were swelling and I had a horrible headache. Then I realized something….EPI-PEN! Thank God! I have that. I was starting to get really scared. So I did it. I jabbed my leg, the swelling and hives started to subside and the I boarded my plane to Salvador for the next 2.5 hrs. By the time I got there it was 11pm and I was ready to shower and go to bed. Tomorrow is a busy day! I get to visit the colorful city of Salvador. My hotel is again on the beach, so I’m excited to get some sun. I’m just happy I’m a mix now, and not all Irish or I’d be bright red!!! Well anyway that’s about my day!





this last pic is part of the ceiling in the Amazon opera house...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb