Southern Altiplano, Bolivia (Laguna Colorada/Geysers/Hot Springs and more)


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Potosí Department
August 14th 2011
Published: September 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

"We saw flamingos and they were my favorite color- pink. We saw a huge rock in the snow and I threw ice at my dad. I was shivering. Bolivia is so cool. We went in the hot springs and it was warm. Can you imagine when you go in hot and cold at the same time. And the geysers were smelling like rotten eggs. We saw a rabbit and I tried to take a picture but it kept on running away. I loved it so much." - Sofia
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

So after an awesome day and a half in the salt flats, the tour continued South. This day had a lot of driving and not many stops. I did not mind as I had my leapster, movies and Jen and Daddy. We ate lunch at a very nice place with a bunch of alpaca and a little snow. Event though there was not much of it, there was enough to throw at daddy.

We stopped by a place with some cool rocks (Valle de Rocas) I had fun climbing and playing on them. It was really cool to try to follow a rabbit.

That night we stayed at a hotel in the middle of nowhere. It was really cold but daddy had brought enough warm clothes and sleeping bags to keep me warm. We went to be really early as we had a huge day the following day and had to get up before sunrise.

So we got up in the middle of the night and we were off. Daddy is always amazed how good I am waking up really early. I went back to sleep in the car. I awoke and it was time to see geysers. I was scared of them at first but then thought they were really cool. I put my feet and hands over them and they warmed them up. They were really loud.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Then next stop was even cooler. We went swimming in the hot springs. It was like a warm swimming pool and I had so much fun in it. It was weird to be so warm in water when it was so cold outside. Getting dressed after getting out was a little bit cold, but not too bad.

The next stop was Laguna Colorada. This place was beautiful. The water was really red and there were so many flamingos. However, it was so cold I decided to go back into the car and watch my movie. I would see more flamingos at another lake.

Next on the full day was the piedra de arbol (Rock Tree). I had seen pics of this prior to going so I was looking forward to it. There was a lot of snow. I didnt want to get out of the car at first but then I was glad I did......SNOW FIGHT. Lots of fun and the rock was really cool looking.

We then passed a bunch of mountains and were really high. We got up to over 15000 feet. Daddy was glad I was on medicine and I had no mountain sickness. We passed a lot of lakes and stopped off at the last one for lunch, Laguna Hedionda. Here I played a lot and saw lots of flamingos. They were really awesome, especially since they were my favorite color, pink.

Long ride back and we stopped off at the train cemetary (previous blog) and then back to our hotel. What a 3 day tour! We used Ruta Verde and daddy was very impressed. The driver, David, told Daddy that
FlamingosFlamingosFlamingos

Laguna Colorada
he was amazed of how well behaved I was.


Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Playing in SnowPlaying in Snow
Playing in Snow

Much more to come
Arbol de PiedraArbol de Piedra
Arbol de Piedra

Daddy's first and only Photoshopped pic
FlamingosFlamingos
Flamingos

Laguna Colorado
Why the Flamingos are so PinkWhy the Flamingos are so Pink
Why the Flamingos are so Pink

Red Color of Laguna Colorada
FlamingosFlamingos
Flamingos

If only daddy zoomed less it would have been a great shot
Pretty in PinkPretty in Pink
Pretty in Pink

Near the Flamingos of Laguna Hedionda
Jen by the AlpacaJen by the Alpaca
Jen by the Alpaca

Getting Ready for Lunch
Playing with SnowPlaying with Snow
Playing with Snow

near arbol de piedra
FlamingosFlamingos
Flamingos

Laguna Colorada
Me and JenMe and Jen
Me and Jen

Great Place for Lunch


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb