Dynamite


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Potosí Department » Potosi
September 4th 2008
Published: September 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I Was Tempted To Buy A BoxI Was Tempted To Buy A BoxI Was Tempted To Buy A Box

They would not let me buy an entire box!!
Nitro Glycerine (Dynamite), Ammonium Nitrate (Fertiliser) and a 4 minute fuse.. A recipe for disaster? Probably, but what a surreal experience to unexpectedly run fuelled on adrenaline with five sticks of dynamite, a bag of fertiliser and a lit fuse in hand. Sliding down the side of a mountain and stumbling over rocks in a complete panic before carefully placing the dynamite on the ground. Scrambling uphill faster then lightening followed by a deafening explosion behind that rocks an entire mountain range which almost throws you to the ground! Probably the scariest 4 minutes of my life!

Completely exhausted from scrambling around in the darkness of the Potosi silver mines, my reward was looming. The idea that it was possible to blow up a mountain with dynamite was what originally drew me to the city of Potosi. Where else in the world could you cause such destruction and get away with it without pissing off the local environmentalists. At only $2 a stick of dynamite, it was there for the taking. Of course it appealed to my very nature... Of course it had to be done!

Back at the Potosi Miners Market I had bought 5 sticks of dynamite,
Hmm the Goodies You Can Buy In BoliviaHmm the Goodies You Can Buy In BoliviaHmm the Goodies You Can Buy In Bolivia

Lets go to the local market and buy six sticks of dynamite, coca (cocaine) leaves, 96% proof alchol and a bottle of fizzy pop - fucking insane!
5 fuses and 5 bags of fertiliser for my own personal entertainment. Anyone is welcome to buy dynamite at the market, there is no such thing as licensing or regulations in Bolivia. The dynamite is laid out on tables like groceries at a UK Sunday market. You can buy as many sticks as you like together with fertiliser and fuses and do with it as you please.

Moments after climbing out of the Potosi mines, one of the miners called me over and decided to show me how to rig up my explosives. I first had to fill a black bag with fertiliser. I then got all five sticks of Dynamite and had to compress it into a large ball similar to a dough ball. I next carefully connected the fuse and dropped the dynamite ball into the bag of fertiliser. I cable tied the top of the black bag with only the fuse visible.

While I was nervously posing for a few photos I was completely unaware that the Bolivia miner had decided to play a practical joke on me. He quietly light the fuse from behind before telling me what to do. Fuckin hysterical... Yeah right...
Handle With Care!Handle With Care!Handle With Care!

Awww - I really wanted to take my five sticks of dynamite home! Now who could I post them to?
I about shit myself!!! I stood there with a burning fuse hissing away while he gave me a minutes worth of instructions on where to run and what to do. When he told me to go, I ran faster then my legs could carry me. I was in a complete panic, much of which is a blur!

I remember running so fast that I was completely out of breath. I forgot to put my camera bag down which was flying all over the place. My helmet flew off so I had to go back and get it before continuing to run down the loose rocky mountain.

With the dynamite and fuse hissing away in my right hand, I remember stumbling down the mountain and falling, landing on my left arm. I quickly got up and continued to run! I carefully placed the dynamite onto the ground. I had absolutely no idea how much time was left. I scrambled back up the mountain, while sliding on the loose rocks. In a blind panic I had put my helmet on backwards. My helmet lamp and battery pack were flying all over the place, reducing my visibility while running for my
My Ball Of Boooommmm!My Ball Of Boooommmm!My Ball Of Boooommmm!

Rolling five sticks of Dynamite into a massive ball is more difficult that you may think!
life!

Within moments I heard the loudest explosion behind me. The entire mountain range shuck. It was so loud that it made me jump into the air and almost fall to the ground. It was such an awesome rush of adrenaline and fear.

It took me a while to slow down my breathing. My lungs were already messed up from the dust in the mines together with the tiring affects of altitude sickness. When I finally managed to slow down, the full impact of what I had just done hit me. I remember swearing a few times at the cheeky miner. The rest of my team were laughing hysterically. It was an absolutely awesome experience!

BOOOOOOOOMMMMMM........


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Becareful - I Would Like To Keep My Arms!Becareful - I Would Like To Keep My Arms!
Becareful - I Would Like To Keep My Arms!

Placing the ball of Dynamite into a bag of Ammonium Nitrate and carefully fitting the fuse
Oh Shit - RUN!Oh Shit - RUN!
Oh Shit - RUN!

The moment the miner lit the fuse I began to look very worried.. one minute later I ran faster than ever before! BLOODY MENTAL!
BOOOMMMMMBOOOMMMMM
BOOOMMMMM

I cant believe I ran all that way with five sticks of dynamite and a lit fuse... Booommm - Insane!


Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 26; qc: 103; dbt: 0.1146s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb