Rainforest and death road!


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department
July 28th 2012
Published: July 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone! Sorry for not being in touch wifi has been down for a couple of days ! So I was really tired when I wrote my last blog and it showed! I forgot to tell you about one of my highlights in sucre. On our last afternoon in sucre we visited a local orphanage. the children were as young as a month and up to about 5. I was a bit worried about going in to start with as I was worried that I would get upset that they were orphaned however when we visited the first group a few months up to 3 it was amazing. The just wanted to be cuddled and have attention. One little boy who was the only one who could walk properly kept taking my hand and trying to eat crisps and play ball. We then moved outside which was children 3-5ish. They were shy to start with but then wouldn't leave us alone it was so sweet. One girl was obsessed with my sunglasses and kept asking me to take a picture, there was also a little boy who loved my big camera and kept trying to play with it. After playing with the children for a bit we were asked by the orphanage if we would take them for a walk. Suddenly all these children wanted to hold our hands and they couldn't choose which of us they wanted to walk with! I had one on each hand, the boy obsessed with my camera and a little girl. They would let go and I kept trying to push my sunglasses up but they wouldn't let go of my hands - adorable! Some of them were terrified of the dogs so my little girl insisted I carried her! I loved this trip so much, people paint pictures that orphanages are awful places and the children hate everything but they all had sooo much love to give and I felt I could have spent weeks there ! It has really made me think, and as my flights havnt worked out so I can't volunteer in Columbia I think I would like to help out at some back at home in England. So anyway skip back into the future to Wednesday! Everyone was a bit tired but a few of us made it to the local moon valley, which is rock formations made of clay which have erroded, they were stunning and very unusal. On thursday We went to a local market however it was not a tourist market it was for the locals and sold not only clothes but stolen cars, kitchen sinks and anything you could think of! We also saw the batman movie last night - amazing! Today we spent the day cycling on death road! It was the most dangerous road until 2006 when the road was closed and a new one was made. Its was also the only way to to get to the jungle from la Paz. I had never done mountain biking before so it was something new! We got all suited up with the gear and had a practice on the Tarmac then it was onto the death road! It was very rubbably so I kept my brakes on loads as I didnt want to fall over! I made it to the end without falling over! Was an amazing and different experience but long and tiring even though it was mainly down hill! Even though I doused myself in bug spray my legs I have been attacked! Not sure what by as it was too high for moszie but the bites bleed loads straight away without you noticing so my leg was pouring and I found lots of puncher holes! We also had to say goodbye to our first your group and with that our leader carolina and 2 members of the group Ali and Wayne. Very sad to say bye to carolina as she was great and will be sad to be leaving Ali behind as she has been my roomy for ages! We just met our new group a few are missing but they all seem lovely! Anyway we are moving to Peru tomorrow - crossing the boarder will take ages as its there national day but will defo be there for tomorrow afternoon! Enjoy the pictures sorry the ones from orphanage are on my camera so you will have to wait for those gems 😉 also as many of you saw they can't change my flight so will be seeing you all from 17th August onwards!love you all xxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



30th July 2012

Well death road should suit your driving!!
Tee hee!! So love reading your blogs Em, such a giggle to see you having a ball! Enjoy your last couple of weeks - you'll be coming home the same time as us so we can compare tans!!! Take care my lovely and sending big hugs!! Cate xx

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb