Walking with Dinosaurs


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Chuquisaca Department » Sucre
December 17th 2008
Published: January 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Now then, let me begin this entry with an admission. Jurassic Park ranks a lot higher in my list of favourite films of all time than it probably really should for a 23 year old male. So when the opportunity came to go to a real life Jurassic Park near Sucre, I jumped at it. Or rather I jumped on a bus to it. Which I kind of told you about last time.

Anyway, arriving in Sucre, I naturally had slept like a baby on the bus, so was full of beans and wanted to jump straight on the "Dino Bus" to the footprints. However, also quite predictably, Beth hadn't slept so well, so wanted to have a bit of a kip first. That was fair enough, and gave me a chance to wander round Bolivia's official capital. I obviously headed straight to the market, and the fruit juice stands. Sadly, unlike La Paz, they didn't have the 2 pint jugs, so I had to make do with a smaller helping. Still delicious though.

I've kind of got to the stage now where I've seen so many colonial buildings that I've stopped being so impressed with them every time. Well it's either that or while in Sucre I was too excited about what was to come in the afternoon to be overly concerned with bricks and mortar. I don't know really.

Soon enough though, the time was nigh, Beth woke up, and it was onto the extremely cheesily named Dino Truck. It even had a pair of claws glued to the front. For some reason, most of the tourists on it seemed to be rather embarrased, not me though, this was great!

The truck eventually pulled up at "Cretacious Park", where our guide led us around a few models of the dinosaurs whose footprints had been left in the quarry. It felt a little bit like being at school, as he constantly bombarded us with questions, e.g. Q "What is similar between these 2 dinosaurs" A "Small Arms".

The models only lasted so long though, and soon we were led to the star attraction - a series of footprints that had been preserved due to them being covered with dust for millions of years. I'll be honest, they were tough to make out, as we were quite a way away, but still, its the first time I've seen dinosaur footprints, so I was happy enough. Then it was back on the Dino Truck to Sucre.

Afterwards, we had a fairly quiet evening, and decided that we'd head to Potosi the next day with a Dutch girl called Mirte that we'd met there. Hey, you can't always expect action packed adventure from these missives!

Stewart




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Me and a dinosaurMe and a dinosaur
Me and a dinosaur

Look how happy I am


Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb