Bolivia


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Chuquisaca Department » Sucre
August 18th 2008
Published: August 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

La PazLa PazLa Paz

The Prado
I'm sitting here in Sucre, Bolivia stuffing my mouth with bon bons. They are tasty. Apparently Sucre is the chocolate capitol of Bolivia. It's probably also the bon bon capitol of the world. Just before the bon bons I was eating the first dinner I've prepared for myself on this whole trip. I made an egg and cheese sandwich with tomatoes. It was kinda bomb. This I think is officially my worst blog ever. Sucre is nice by the way. Where did all my writing inspiration go?

I probably keep going on about food because since I've been in Bolivia I haven't had much of an appetite and it finally came back today. After leaving Puno, I was in La Paz for about a day then continued on to Uyuni to see these salt flats everyone kept talking about. When I got to Uyuni, I had some breakfast, saw some dogs fight over bitch in heat then threw up. I'm not sure if it was the eggs or the dogs but it really sucked. I then got into a Land Cruiser with six other people and we continued to drive around on dirt roads for three days. This part was actually really beautiful but since this is turning out to be a stomach blog I'll say it was really difficult. We got back from our tour about twenty minutes before I got onto a bus headed to Potosí then Sucre and I attempted to eat a cookie. During the coldest busride of my life, my stomach tossed and turned and about 14 hours later, I got to Sucre. This was yesterday. Yesterday I forced down a cheese empanada and a pastry thing. Today I woke up noticably skinnier than a week ago but I was hungry. Thank you.

I might as well write another blog about my journey out of Peru and into Bolivia. I'll try to make that one better. Tomorrow I'm headed to Argentina. I'm anticipating an easy border crossing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Where am I?Where am I?
Where am I?

Why did those dogs have to fight? Why did I eat those eggs? whats going on? who are you? I want my mommy!
Isla IncahuasiIsla Incahuasi
Isla Incahuasi

Cactuses in the Salar de Uyuni
FlamingosFlamingos
Flamingos

si hay flamencos en la sierra de Bolivia. muy extraño, ¿no?
MarsMars
Mars

I went to Mars but then I ran out of batteries, so I couldn't take anymore photos.
most recent photomost recent photo
most recent photo

Tonight in Sucre


18th August 2008

Yay Kim!
Hey Kim, I was just thinking about you this morning, sorry you felt bad, glad your feeling better! Doesn't Sucre mean sugar?
18th August 2008

get this
tomorrow I'm going to a city called Salta. Salta doesn't mean salt and Sucre doesn't mean sugar, btw. Sucre was a guy, he liberated Bolivia (and Peru?) from Spain.

Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 72; dbt: 0.2806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb