On my way to Bariloche


Advertisement
Published: June 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, next part of my journey has started.
I’m on my way from Buenos Aires to Bariloche (where I intend to ski/board and study Spanish… )

Though I’ve left Australia 2 days ago, I still haven’t reached my destination.
Currently I’m on a bus from Buenos Aires to Bariloche which is going to take 20 hours instead of 2 on the plane… However the busses are pretty cool, with seats reclining 160 degrees- almost like a bed… hope I’ll manage to catch up on a bit of sleep (I’m still seriously jet lagged. Last night managed to sleep only couple of hours. Woke up at around 2am and that was it…)
You’re probably asking yourself what am I doing on the bus when I planned to fly from Buenos Aires to Bariloche!? Well - see, there has been volcano eruption in Chile which is effecting flights to Bariloche. Apparently there are so many particles of volcanic ashes in the air that no one risks to fly…

The whole trip has been an adventure - everything started already in Adelaide, when at the check-in I was told that my bookings aren’t appearing… then the same happened in Sydney. Once I’ve go to Santiago - I was told that my ski bag has stayed in Sydney and will arrive few days later (though considering current situation - this probably wasn’t such a bad news… as long as bag reaches me before mid June). Then, the place in Santiago that I’ve stayed at was sooooo cold that I thought I was back in Kel…).
Oh, and my own stupidity - I was sure that my old Nokia was a tri-band one - surprise, surprise… turned out to be a dual too… So, I decided to get myself a new tri-band phone and an Argentinean number. Good idea, just that that bloody thing didn’t work. To cut long story short - after multiple hours of trying to work out what’s wrong (none of my messages would go through to foreign numbers and no one from overseas was able to call me) this morning I had to take it back to the store (lucky enough that I wasn’t leaving till later in the afternoon…) where they were happy to give money back.
After that I went into next store and bought myself a “free” Nokia that has got quad band (at least with that one I know that most likely I will be to use it anywhere in the world…). This way for the time being I can use my Australian Sim card till I get myself a new Argentinean number…

P.S.
It’s been almost 4 hours since I’ve boarded the bus. And if not cows instead of sheep, I would think that I’m driving through outback back home and not through a middle of Argentinean pampa. Huge spaces with only few small towns from time to time…

P.S. 2
message was written on a bus, but posted after I've reached Bariloche... don't think that Argentina is so advanced in technology, that they would have internet connection on a bus... Actually - communication from here is a very frustrating exercise. Starting with their system of mobile phones and finishing with internet connection...


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb