Rio de la Plata, San Isidro, asados, sun sun and more sun!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
November 26th 2013
Published: November 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So the summer is starting here in Argentina. The weather has been hotting up and as there was a bank holiday Monday, with the long weekend people were out and about and it was really starting to feel a lot like summer! Spent the Saturday by the river, we went to a place called Peru Beach, which is in San Isidro, about an hours drive from the city centre (because of the traffic, not because of the distance!). It was about 32 degrees again on Saturday, so I was thankful for the breeze coming off the river. This is a really nice part of the city, and it has a really chilled surfer kind of vibe. It is forbidden to swim in the water - unfortunately, I wanted nothing more than to strip off and dive in with the heat! But the water isn't the cleanest apparently and it doesn't even look that appealing as it has a brownish colour, because of the river soil beneath. We had a really nice day wandering round, and a little picnic with Leandro's friends. Then we headed to the area where the trendy bars and restaurants are and had a drink by the bay. Really hot day, so what does the Irish girl order? Cider of course. I was excited to see it on the drinks menu, as it is not something that is very popular here in Argentina - apparently it is something that people drink at Christmas time but it is becoming a bit more mainstream now. But yeah it doesn't have much on a Bulmers to be honest, and comes in a mini-sized bottle. Still at 25 pesos, or 2 euro 50, it is one of the cheaper drinks here so I shouldn't complain.

The weather was still gorgeous on Sunday, and we spent the day with some more of Leandro's friends at an asado in his friends grandmothers house. Asados are a very sociable way of enjoying food with friends and family, and a true Argentinian experience. Meat is so important here for people, and for me the asado is like a showcase of the sheer excellence of Argentinian meat. On Sunday we ate so so so much meat, there was about 5 courses of meat served up to us, different cuts of beef, and some pork, chorizo and morsillo (which is like black pudding at home but has a stronger taste. I am a big black pudding fan, but I have to say I don't like this stuff too much). When you eat asado here, there are also some salads and bread to avail of, but I would advise anyone who has the chance to eat an asado here, not to fill up on this kind of thing, as there is always plenty of meat, and it so delicious it's a shame not to have as much of it as you can! And with the meat there is of course the wine. Argentina is renowned for it's wine - most of which comes from the Mendoza region in the west. Many people seem to prefer Malbec here, which is one of the typical types produced here. I have to say I find it too strong a taste, though I am trying to get accustomed to it! I tried an Argentine Merlot the other week though, and it was beautiful, so smooth and 'suave'.

Another thing to mention about people's love of meat, in the MacDonalds here Big Macs don't exist. Instead they have Triple Macs, which have three burgers instead of the usual two. I always thought Leandro was exaggerating a bit when he bought a Big Mac and a cheeseburger in Ireland, but looks like the Argentinians in general don't feel that two burgers in one sandwich is enough! MacDonalds is expensive here though, and costs roughly the same as it does at home. There is an Argentinian version called Mostazo which is a bit cheaper, and although I haven't tried it yet, people say it is better as the burgers are much bigger, so better value for money. It's funny cos if you don't have much money to buy lunch at home you buy MacDonalds, but here it is much cheaper to buy something else, like a choripan (chorizo in a baguette) or an empanada (like an English pasty). MacDonalds seem to have a strong link to Coca Cola here too, and even the water they sell is bottled by the Coca Cola company. In fact many of the drinks that you can buy in the supermarkets or kiosks, are Coca Cola company. It seems that coke has an even bigger market here than I highlighted in an earlier blog.

The weather changed on Monday, it was very humid and overcast, which isn't ideal. It's the kind of weather that leaves you with a headache all day, and you're constantly sweating even though there is no sun. There was a storm on Monday night and the weather broke so for the last couple of days it's been refreshingly cooler - although it's still about 24 degrees - and there is a lovely breeze, so I am in my element enjoying the break from the sun while it lasts and before the real summer kicks in. It's been raining on and off for the last couple of days too, but it hasn't been much. I think it's hilarious, as we spent the bank holiday Monday in Alto Palermo shopping centre and half of the people where wandering round in wellies, a slight overreaction to a very small amount of rain I felt! Alto Palermo is a really nice shopping centre though, but I didn't buy much, as again things are the same price as at home or more expensive. Which is crazy when you compare it to people's salaries here, but people seem to have a money, or at least spend what they have, as the shops were full of people buying clothes and other things. I think one factor might be that many people who have not travelled outside of South America don't realise that they are being completely ripped off here. I guess ignorance is bliss as they say.

Haven't got too much more to report, just been going to the gym and taking it easy apart from that. The TV here isn't the best to be honest, it kind of reminds me of French TV, lots of silly chat shows and reality TV. But if you like football then you're sorted. No matter what time of the day or night, if you turn the telly on here there are at least two or three channels showing different football matches. It's definitely a religion here. In fact some people have even asked me in introductory conversations which football team I support. I was a bit taken aback at first, I generally say I like rugby not soccer.... or go along with Leandro's football club, Boca Juniors. Speaking of rugby, can I just say what a SHAME, I was gutted on Sunday, we almost had them!! But yeah football is a big deal here. Might go to a match at some point while I am here, it is supposed to be one of the things you do before you die according to one of those Times lists of greatest experiences in the world or something. That's how passionate an event football matches are! Nadal and Djokovic were both here last weekend to play an exhibition match in Buenos Aires - we were going to go but the tickets were overpriced big time, and Nadal played Nalbandian too but as it was his farewell match and Nalbandian is Argentinian the tickets were even more overpriced for that match. But anyway Nadal and Djokovic were both taken to the Boca Juniors stadium as part of their tour of Buenos Aires, and it's something that I might do while I am here too.

One more observance about introductory meetings, I have to say physical appearance is really important for people here. Not only do a lot of people work out and go to the gym, but how you look often defines what your friends and family call you. I have heard people being referred to, to their face, as feo (ugly), lindo (good looking), gordo (fat), negro (not said in a racist way but people who have a darker tan), bolita (as joke to people who look more of the indigenous indication). Thankfully I have just been referred to as rubia (blondie) or blanca teta (which literally means white tit, but is a term used for really white people, like Casper in English I guess!). But yeah, physical appearance is pretty high up there for Argentinians, and most people take care of themselves and work out etc. I have to say, I have seen a lot more overweight people than I expected to though, but Leandro has also been a bit surprised by this too. Also, guys don't have the stereotypical longer hair that I was expecting. Of course there are some guys who still wear their hair longer, but I think it's not in fashion as much anymore as it was in the past. Most guys have haircuts like you would see back home. I have to say, people here are generally a lot smaller. Well, girls are definitely smaller than Irish girls, more like Spanish or Italians. People think I am 'muy alta' here, or very tall, whereas I am not that tall at all at home, I am normal or only just above average height. And there are some tall guys, but in general most guys are about my height and not too much more. I don't find myself looking up to meet many people's eyes here.

Ok well I think that's enough rambling for one entry. I will blog again soon with lots of news and photos of the next week - I am so excited as my Dad and my sister are coming to see me this weekend and spend a week here in Buenos Aires. We have lots planned to do and see while they are here so I am really looking forward to it.

Will write again soon, hope this finds everyone well.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb