Puerto Iguazú - Iguazu Falls, Argentina


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Misiones » Puerto Iguazú
July 28th 2011
Published: July 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Reb and I took a long haul to get to Iguazu from BA. We didnt get our tickets in advance (we never had to in Peru and Bolivia), so all tickets were sold out. Frustrated, one company finally jumped in to finally say "Oh, you could go to Posada, then take a bus from there to Iguazu... Youd arrive a few hours later than everyone else" (Thank you Reb for being the awesome spanish translator you were that day - and every other day..). The buses were definetly not as terrible as I thought considering they were so much cheaper, but we survived. We successfully got ourselves a hostel meeting up with Rebs friends Steve and Josh, and got up the following morning to get a bus to the National Park holding the Iguazu falls. Iguazu Falls sit at the borders of Argentina and Brazil showing off 275 falls all near 250ft high. Our favourite - most exciting part of the falls - was the U-shaped "Devils Throat". We explored the Upper and lower trails before the Devils throat, saving the best for last - it really was - but on the lower trail we were able to stand right next to one of the roaring falls to get completely and utterly soaked (Thank you Reb for having a Poncho...). The heat and sun that day was so fab we dried off no problem, only to get soaked again at the Devils Throat. Usually people explore the Brazilian side as well, we opted to go to the Conservation and Rehabiliation Center for the jungle animals. I actually risked not getting to Brazil that day (my bus left at 2 supposedly, but another left at 3pm so i could successfully catch my 3rd bus in Iquazu, Brazil) - So worth it. We saw Toucans (FINALLY), hawks, eagles (massive), parrots ("Hola!" Ciao"!), a baby jaguar, monkeys (one punched me and my camera - note to self, dont get to close..). Fabulous. Saying ciao to Reb was sad, it was the last person Id meet up with on my travels, and I didnt know what to look forward to as I had no clue where I was headed! Needless to say, Im organized now, but a little stressed at this point in time!
Following the Rehab and Conservation I ran to catch my first of 7 buses to arrive in Bonito, Brazil. Just west of Campo Grande and at the tip of the Patanal - The largest swamp in the world. Most people travel to Bonito and Patanal then Bolivia. I had no idea, and Ive already done the pampas, jungle and Bolivia... So i dont quite fit in. I had to constantly jump off a bus to catch the next or a different one, but had no clue when to get off the bus (I dont speak portuguese or recognize the names of places..). I got yelled at only once though... "TESSA GALLEEEENGAARR!! GALLEEENGAR?? TESSA GALLEENGARR!!" ... I was at the back of the bus.
But Im in Bonito, safe and sound. Snorkelling in Rio de Plata for 3 and a half hours to see loads of amazing fish and visiting a miraculous Blue lagoon Cave. Woot!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb