Detour.....


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Misiones » Posadas
February 23rd 2011
Published: February 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Posadas, ArgentinaPosadas, ArgentinaPosadas, Argentina

A limited view of the guesthouse
…..and now you understand why I am currently writing to you from Argentina!!! Did not expect to be here at this point, or really to visit Posadas at all (which is, of course, just across the border from Encarnación) but it’s been nice! We stayed with a sweet older lady and her family, who run Residential Misiones, a no-frills but clean and very pleasant guest house. Her son was nice enough to give us a free ride to the bus station, speaking slowly so we could understand him, and sharing his maté with us (everyone down here carries a cup, filter-type straw, and pitcher and drinks it all day).
Posadas is also a friendly town, a little heavier on the begging, especially with the children who come right up to your table and ask if they can have the last couple of swallows of your Coke. Yeah. Heartbreaking, though it seems an accepted part of the society. It’s also definitely part of the culture to be out and about super late. Families are walking by with infants and toddlers at 11pm on a Monday, while we’re having dinner outside a restaurant. Posadas has some pretty happening plazas, with lots of
Posadas, ArgentinaPosadas, ArgentinaPosadas, Argentina

At a fountain, downtown
stores, bars, restaurants and ice cream joints.
And now we’re headed to El Soberbio, a non-touristy city northeast of Posadas with beautiful waterfalls, on the way to Iguazú Falls.
And, I am amazed we’ve hardly spoken any English at all and things are going great!
Side note: Crossing the border last night we saw a huge Marajuana bust. I said, “just bring that to Colorado and we’ll sell it for you!” 



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Posadas, ArgentinaPosadas, Argentina
Posadas, Argentina

For my cougar friends, found this book about relaciones sexuales and thought it was particularly relevant
Posadas, ArgentinaPosadas, Argentina
Posadas, Argentina

Do you guys think I have the Dengue? Mosquito bite, day 5


23rd February 2011

sweet
Glad to hear you're having fun. Was going to email you today anyway because we're having our windows cleaned and the guy that showed up is - I swear - John's twin. Same looks, same voice, same demeanor.....except with a beard and he cleans windows. He did not show up with a cake, however, which was a huge downer and clearly puts the real John well ahead of his pseudo-twin, in my book. Mark and I are taking an impromptu trip to Hawaii in a couple weeks. Yeah! I know! It's a long story - we're practically going for free - and a little sooner than we'd planned for a babymoon, but what the hey. I'm about to outgrow all my bathing suits anyway, and kiddo's a kicker, so I'd rather have insomnia on the beach than at home. It works well. Miss you chica! Sending you big hugs and virtual anti-perspirant.
23rd February 2011

Hmmm...
Are you calling me a Cougar?? LOL
23rd February 2011

yet another shout out!!
Yet another shout out to your "cougar friends"!!!! I love it.. I hope I can print that picture...(Although not from my work computer...probably not appropriate for elementary school).. Speaking of cougars, I think your "mosquito bite" is actually in the shape of a cougar.. I think I even see the cat ears and potentially some whiskers! The fact that your blog is soooooo incredibly funny just makes me miss you more!!!

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0738s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb