Iguazu Falls and Victoria Falls


Advertisement
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

In Zimbabwe a couple years ago... gazing at Victoria Falls, the Spanish fellow I was chatting with said, 'It is nice, but you should see Iguazu Falls.' Well..., OK.

I spent 2 days at Iguazu Falls last week. As one of my hostel roommates said, 'That is too long, you only need one day!' - but this fellow also thought I'd wasted a day reading in a hammock under the palm trees by the hostel pool. He was not from Alaska... anyway...

The light changes with the day. Some areas of the falls are better in the morning, others in the evening. The biggest difference was the number of tourists. Early morning the trails were almost empty, afternoons the place is... busy.

There is this giant inflatable boat ride that takes you under the mist. I did it. See the photos and as you scroll through them put your arms into the air, scream a lot and have someone throw a bucket of water on you. That´s what it´s like. Yeah, you should see Iguazu falls...

Random observation... I am impressed with this new photo type - the one-handed self portrait with background (I call them 'ohseps'). Most small digital cameras have such great depth of field that it is common to see folks holding the camera at arms length and taking pictures of themselves with the scene in the background. This was not a common method of taking photos in the days of film!

So... my overall impression... 'You should see Iguazu Falls.' Yup. And how does it compare with Victoria Falls? I thought of that question as I walked around, and here´s my short answer. Iguazu Falls is more spectacular, but Victoria Falls is more beautiful. What do I mean by that? Well, guess you´ll just have to go there and find out... That dang Spanish fellow motivated me, now it´s my turn. UPDATE... back at home now and just looked through the Vic Falls photos... well, it was really nice but Iguazu was really, really spectacular...

This blogs a little short... There are 338 blogs on Iguazu National Park in Travelblog.org. When I finish reading them all I´ll try to add something that makes this one unique.... Oh yeah... got to read all the Vic Falls blogs too... 89 Travelblogs on Victoria Falls ...

Vacations almost over. When I get home I´ll add a few photos of Victoria Falls for perspective.
Ohseps everywher...Ohseps everywher...Ohseps everywher...

One Handed SElf Portraits
Reality is you should see Iquazu Falls, and Victoria Falls... ´tis a privilege to have seen them both...



Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Garganta de Diablo from the jetGarganta de Diablo from the jet
Garganta de Diablo from the jet

Brazil at the top, Argentina below.
All of Iguazu from the jetAll of Iguazu from the jet
All of Iguazu from the jet

Water flows from left to right.


5th February 2009

nice
Hello, I like the photos - nice range of shots. Reminds me of a great few days spent in Iguazu way back in 2007. Cheers, Ruth

Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 20; qc: 116; dbt: 0.2057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb