I can't resist this...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Mendoza
February 14th 2013
Published: February 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Promises of wine to come.Promises of wine to come.Promises of wine to come.

The wines were from the O. Fournier bodega, two white and two red.
Livvy and Ru's last birthday present to me was something special I would like to do on this trip. A trip out to a winery in the Valle de Uco fitted the bill. I will let the photos do most of the talking, except for saying that the wine was exceptionally good as well!

The bodega is about 10 years old - a modern concrete design which works well I think. No photos of that, they are on my camera but it looks as if it has an aeroplane hovering over it. The harvest had just begun, grapes are sorted by hand and the design of the building ensures that gravity moves most of the juice and wine.

So, all those who are interested in the hectare of vines, I have the details for contacting the owner LOL!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Freshly bakedFreshly baked
Freshly baked

Olive bread with their own olive oil.
First course part oneFirst course part one
First course part one

Avocado soup with roasted cherry tomato, the filo pastry cracker also enclosed a plum cherry tomato.
SoupSoup
Soup

Gaspacho with Peruvian potato balls stuffed with pickled veg.
Pudding no. 1Pudding no. 1
Pudding no. 1

Orange and olive oil sorbet
Pudding no. 2Pudding no. 2
Pudding no. 2

Lemon sorbet with fresh fruit brochettes.
The ownerThe owner
The owner

If you have $150,000 to spend, it is possible to buy a hectare of his winery!


14th February 2013

Steak
That was a big steak! I hope you ate every bite! Everything looks yummy!
14th February 2013

Steak
My plate was clean Tami!
14th February 2013

Looks good!
More food pics than wine in there but it looks very nice mum. Glad you enjoyed it.
14th February 2013

Wine comments
I took notes and will talk to you about them.
14th February 2013

Winery purchase !
You know me and directions to a winery, if I purchased one I would never find it !!!!!!!!!!!
14th February 2013

Re directions..
I had forgotten that little episode, however, I took great glee in telling our guide about you crunching the grapes, he shrugged at first, but when I pointed out that it was (what do you call a collective noun of feet?) a march (?) of soldiers' feet that crushed those grapes, he reacted beautifully lol!

Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb