Mendoza: The Boliche Strikes Back


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Mendoza
August 2nd 2009
Published: August 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Garrett and Myself @ WishGarrett and Myself @ WishGarrett and Myself @ Wish

self-explanatory.....?
It was last Friday evening that I arrived in Mendoza, and how time can fly! The last week has been filled with orientations, safety presentations, and (gasp) the start of classes; however I only have class once a day for two hours and the professor is engaging, hilarious, and knows how to navigate through touchy topics (abortion, woman’s rights, etcetera). Angel (prof.) only supports my hypothesis that Spanish teachers are the best out there (Hola to profes. Walker, Kreutzer, Talaya, y Tala-Ruiz!)

Outside of class I have been trying to take in the nightlife here, which is slightly toned down due to it being winter here (and due to the absolutely terrifying pandemic that is LA GRIPE A). But, toned down for an Argentine pretty much means the craziest party a gringo can imagine! On Wednesday night (at least I think it was Wednesday), my good friend Garrett comes rampaging into the house with news of a transvestite show at a gay bar nearby. Of course upon hearing this, I was skeptical… But away we all went eventually. To the disappointment of all we only caught the last 5 minutes of the show; however I can now say that I
SunsetSunsetSunset

Noah, Zach, Myself, and Charles
have stayed out until 5 in the morning being hit on by gay men and dancing with travestis (please see pictures). The night was topped off by some somewhat sketchy verbal (and slightly physical) exchanges between self-proclaimed drug dealers and myself. The majority of what went down was Lost in Translation, thank goodness (I think).

It has been a week of adjustment, and so I apologize for only having one somewhat exciting story. But please stay tuned for more to come next week, when I hope to experience more mountains and less nightlife.

To everybody out there in the world: keep those heads up and live upright!

BESOS

PEACE

521 Ferroviarios Argentinos



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Oh gollyOh golly
Oh golly

Mendoza gets a dose of the Thizz Face
TravestiTravesti
Travesti

Pretty good looking I thought


2nd August 2009

Whoa, gnarly stuff
So I ignored the censor's warning and proceeded to read. Not as shocking as I anticipated. Tal vez supongo que sea la vida un poco "gnarly" para los Mendecinos???

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb