I've Got A Sculpture of My Own A-Brewin'


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Chaco » Resistencia
May 1st 2006
Published: May 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

How to Get Ahead in ResistenciaHow to Get Ahead in ResistenciaHow to Get Ahead in Resistencia

This is not, I repeat not, an effective way to direct traffic.
I didn't pick up any laxatives today as planned. I started feeling better on my own.

...Until I realized I'll be stuck in South America when Art School Confidential opens in US theatres! Ugh! Why is my life so terrible?

Aside from the 400+ sculptures, there's not much to see here in Resistencia. Yet, for some reason, despite the constant overwhelming presence of car fumes and roaring mufflerless engines, I've in fact found myself relatively enchanted by this town. Maybe it's because some intersections here inexplicably look like Old Vegas. Or maybe because the man who single-handedly runs our lovably dumpy El Hotelito reminds me of a Spanish-speaking Charles Laughton. Or maybe it's all the labor protesting, but that doesn't really count because it's Labor Day today and that's what they do on Labor Day in a lot of countries. Or... maybe it's the aforementioned sculptures?

Too bad I won't be here in July to see the annual sculpture contest whereby they will add new sculptures to any currently sculpture-free street corner. Too bad the chances of my moving here are so astronomical, I can't take advantage of living tax-free for a year in exchange for placing a sculpture in
How to Get Lucky in ResistenciaHow to Get Lucky in ResistenciaHow to Get Lucky in Resistencia

This is not, I repeat not, an effective way to direct traffic.
front of my house. Too bad I won't be able to finish this post, I have to go to the bathroom


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Hats Off to Resistencia!Hats Off to Resistencia!
Hats Off to Resistencia!

This is not, I repeat not, an effective way to direct traffic.


14th May 2006

i guess the real nudity is in brazil..
hey! nice sculptures.. but i can see that kind of nudity here! looks like you are heading west... nice to see you are both feeling better..

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb