such a big city, where do i start...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
December 10th 2005
Published: December 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Avenida 9 de JulioAvenida 9 de JulioAvenida 9 de Julio

Worlds biggest street
The thing about travelling alone is you have plenty of time to question and think about every decision, past, present and future you make. I have had mucho tiempo to think about whether i have made the right choice to move to an alien speaking country that is trying to climb its way out of an economic crisis.

My spanish works to get me what i want to survive, to meet people, to have random conversations and throw a cheeky wisecrack at my new locale grocer, Juan. However at other times, when trying to join in a discussion on the work restrictions for south americans or the history of Peru whilst trying to understand the different accents coming from Colombianos, Peruanos and Argentianos, I really struggle to stay happy and interested and find it very frustrating that i can't keep up and add my ideas, questions and hilarious humour. Even though i knew what to expect from living in Spain i guess i forgot how tough these situations really are. But this i have to use as fuel to drive me to keep learning, studying, reading the language. Must tell myself its simply the initial obstacle/hurdle and in time
Next to the obeliscoNext to the obeliscoNext to the obelisco

my hostal was around here somewhere????
and with plenty of self disciplined study, i will be able to add some pepper and salt to the mix.

It has only been 15 days away from home but feels more like 15months. I miss my family and friends, and more than anything, i miss my beautiful, sode, Karen. Many times I have felt like i have done the wrong thing to leave and contemplated catching a taxi directly to airport. Then i remind myself that it wasn't supposed to be easy.

Loneliness in a foreign country is a powerful feeling, that helps you to appreciate the people you love and magnifies how fortunate you are to have them in your life. Even though its only a plane ride away, it feels like you are on another planet with only one chance to take the return flight. I am determined to make the most of my time here in this amazingly huge city, Buenos Aires.

Today i have moved into a new hostal and plan to stay here until the 29th of December. its a beautiful little Casita run by 5 Argentinian ex-travellers/artists. It has a very warm atmosphere and i am looking forward to
Colombiano, Peruano, australiano, ilegalColombiano, Peruano, australiano, ilegalColombiano, Peruano, australiano, ilegal

tres very different accentos
taking part in the spanish and tango lessons each week. Thats right Tango, CHA CHA CHA!!!(im sure there will be plenty of HA HA HA's. The hostal is very very quiet so it will be a nice place to study and allow me to organise a job and apartment for March.

Check out the pictures, they are of my first few days here and the hostal i have moved into today.

espero que todo que vaya bien por todos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Sandanzas, Hostal, BASandanzas, Hostal, BA
Sandanzas, Hostal, BA

chill out rooms in hostal
Cocina de HostalCocina de Hostal
Cocina de Hostal

fully equipped like grandmas house


15th December 2005

Nick - finally got to an internet shop to read your adventures. Very impressed with your travelogue and vision. I feel like I am reading a novel about a young hero and his adventures - what will happen next - its like indiana jones with passion and emotion - going over the rapids,getting the car to work with house keys, will he get over his lonliness drinking coffee and smoking cigaretes in the rain, will he meet/recognise his long-lost brother, will he get the girl. I can't wait for the next chapter Hang in there and remember the famous line from that all time great movie, The Waterboy, (Adam Sandler) - U CAN DO IT lOVE DAD AND rOX
23rd December 2005

Happy Friday!!
Hello! It's the last working day before Christmas here and I'm sitting at work thinking about you. Just logged on and your last entry seems a little sad...hope you are doing ok over there? As usual nothing exciting in my life and I continue to be in awe of all the exciting things that you're doing. Have a wonderful xmas and hang in there, I'm sure it will all get heaps easier soon. If ever your thinking you might like to come home just think about how awful it would be to have to come back and work for NAB..that should cure any home sickness. Cyber hugs and kisses!
27th December 2005

Feliz navidad (merry christmas, right?)
yo bro, how was yr sth american chrissy? mate for me was a non event this year driving solo across the nullabor, a 17 hour day behind the wheel... I was staying with boothy in bondi a few days, then just decided to drive straight back to perth. I always seem to just make impulsive decicions like that! Anyway I'm home now, so just gotta sell the van and then find a boat, I'm thinking of going back to palma or france, not sure yet... mate, I know what you mean about travelling on your own... way too much time for contemplation I reckon! can be a good thing, but gets old after a while!! Bro whenever you feelin lonely or down, remember all the good people who are thinking of you and wishin ya well, and wishin they could be there too!! (me included, but i don't think my piss poor spanish would get me far!) Big up bro, miss ya, tigchops.

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb