In San Telmo


Advertisement
Published: July 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

When my plane came in from Miami, I was tired. It is hard to sleep on a plane and also the hour plus delay due to some problem in the lavatories (the plane had problems, not me), I ignored the advice I read everywhere - I took a cab. Now the cabs downtown are fine, but NEVER, EVER take a cab from the airport unless you are fully awake and speak spanish well and have correct change, even then it is probably ill advised. Anyway, $40 paid into the scam later, plus the overcharging for the cab ride, I was out about $60 USD over what I should have paid.
Also, don.t arrive on a Sunday, during the COPA final, after sneering at the crap exchange rate at the airport.
Oh, and last warning - apparently a Blackberry is not going to work here unless you can have a resident add the data plan, so, as a phone, I am up and functioning, but otherwise it is useless. So my grand plans of GPS updates are out the window.

That all aside, it is great to be here! The hotel I am in is in San Telmo, it is cheap, a bit run down and the people are all very friendly. In fact, it is less than a hostel with a private bano. When I come back to Buenos Aires near the end of my trip I will likely stay here again.
For lunch I had 2 empanadas and a glass of wine for about $3USD total, the food was absolutely delicious and it may have been the best glass of wine I have ever had!
I've decided to forego my pepsi addicition, since a bottle of pepsi costs almost as much as my lunch did.

Speaking of addicition, I think I am going to be smoking Lucky Strikes (unless I can find another brand), a far cry from the p-funks, but at 1/4th the price of cigs in the usa, I won't complain.

Tonight I take the bus to Cordoba, via a seat that would make someone in first class on any airplane jealous, all for barely ten bucks more than coach.
Oh, my laptop was giving me problems before I left, and has now decided it will not take a charge - the plug on the back of it is broken. So pictures will have to wait until I head down the the internet cafe with my cables, etc so I can transfer them.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb