More From Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Published: May 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The last few days have been spent detoxing and sleeping. Also I got on some antibiotics because I felt legitimately ill. Brett and Joey are also on antibiotics because they are also feeling the same. I am not sure if it’s the hard partying we have been doing or just the fact that we are living with six other people in a room and in a hostel with about one hundred other residents that also party hard and probably have all kinds of sicknesses. I have been washing my hands and drinking a lot of water and staying off the piss though so that has been helping and I am now feeling back to normal. We went out to dinner at a Mexican restaurant the other night which was delicious. It was nice to have some Mexican food again because it was spicy and out of the ordinary for what we have been eating. Aaron had a fake 50 peso note which is very common here and we tried to pass it off to the server when we paid our bill but most people are really diligent here and he didn’t go for it. Oh well, it was worth a shot. That’s pretty much what goes down here is when you get a fake note you try to pass it on to someone else. I went to bed early that night because the next morning I had a meeting with German Touzet, the general manager of the CH Robinson office here in Buenos Aires. Even though i went to bed early the party that alternates nights between our hostel and the other Milhouse was at our hostel and there were literally people running through the hallways screaming “I AM SO FUCKED UP!!!” at the top of their lungs for most of the night. So I slept only so so but I got up at 7am and did some work on the computer, had a nice breakfast and headed out on the Subte (the metro, or EL for you Chicagoans) to the stop where the office was located. After a few minutes walking around, I was a little early; I headed up to the office and had to wait a few minutes for German. I was greeted by a lady named Paola and she was very accommodating and got me some water and was pleasant. German was a really nice guy, well dressed (unlike me since I have no proper business clothes) and we talked for about an hour about what help I could be to them here in Buenos Aires. We decided on a few things and that the month of June would be my starting point. We have a lot to discuss still with my bosses in the US as well as his boss here in Argentina but it looks like I will have myself a job for the month of June. That means I am going to have buy some proper shoes, pants, and shirts as well as a bag to carry my things in and also I will most likely have to rent an apartment because I can’t stay here at the Milhouse and wake up for work on time every day! We parted ways and I came back to the hostel and then Aaron, Joey, Brett, and I went to El Tigre, which is a suburb of Buenos Aires, about a forty minute train ride away. It was nice to get out of the city for a little while. We took a boat from El Tigre up the river to a place called Tres Bocas, which is a very small town if you can even call it that and had some lunch. There were homes in this town and even a school but the most common mode of transport was by speedboat which was pretty cool. It reminded me a lot of Florida back home. We had some chicken from the grill and shared a coca cola and then we got back to the dock to board the boat back to the mainland and get the train back to BA. We got back to BA and the Subte was so crowded we ended up walking back to the hostel which was nice because we got some fresh air and got moving again after a long train ride that tired us all out. That night I went to bed early and finally got some proper sleep. Yesterday we woke up and Joey, Brett, and our Brazilian friend Marilia went to walk around Palermo. Marilia was leaving today and she wanted to do something and Brett and I wanted to look for a new hostel to stay in once we come back from Uruguay with the guys since I think it would be cool to stay in a different neighborhood from where we are now, at least for a while, even though I do love the Milhouse. So we walked around Palermo all day, got some lunch, Choripan which is sausage on bread with tomato and lettuce, also I put all kinds of spicy sauce on it, and it was delicious. After that we got some ice cream and did some more walking around, I looked in some shops for clothes that I may or may not need for my possible new consulting job however everything was super expensive so I clearly didn’t purchase anything because I am dropping pesos like I am Julio Roca (that’s only funny if you know that he is on the 100 peso note and was president of the Republic twice before and led the war of the desert in which he basically waged a mass genocide against the indigenous peoples of southern Argentina, but hey I mean we celebrate Columbus and our forefathers who did exactly the same so who can blame the guy) and we made our way back to the Subte to come home. There was a party at the other Milhouse last night and I didn’t want to go out but I got suckered into it and ended up at a club until 5am, which was ok but I spent a little money and really wasn’t all about that since like I said, I am trying to live on a budget here. But anyways I slept in today and Brett, Joey, and I went to the port to inquire about boats to Uruguay, which weren’t all that expensive although they weren’t exactly cheap either so we have to see what the guys want to do when they get here. Tonight we’re going to watch the Red Wings smoke San Jose in game 7 of the Stanley Cup Playoffs. And tomorrow morning Mattcam and Phil arrive. So I am preparing my body for a deluge of alcohol and god knows what else. I would love to say we’ll talk sooner rather than later but I don’t want to be a bold faced liar so I will say I’ll update when I can. Take it sleazy folks, that seems to be the Buenos Aires way.


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb