Buenos Aires cntd.


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
November 22nd 2009
Published: November 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Don´t remember exactly where I left off...
On Tuesday I was originally planning to go to Uruguay for the day. Apparently Colonia is really nice and pretty easy to get to. But when I awoke to a thunderstorm I realized that it really wasn´t worth it just to get the stamp in my passport. Kind of a lazy day. At night, however, I made it out to a more local milango tango show, with a substantially cheaper entrance fee and an eclectic mix of seemingly professional dancers and couples who clearly had learned an hour ago. It had a great environment, and I was glad I was able to see that over a more touristy performance.
Wednesday I again considered going to Uruguay but chose to use my last day in Buenos for a once in a lifetime opportunity. Dubbed "The World´s Most Dangerous Zoo" for its permittance to let visitors into cages with lions, tigers and bears, (seriously, search for it on google images) the Lujan Zoo is about 90 minutes from Palermo. Despite being ethically challenged, I still visited and asked the zookeeper whether it was still allowed. I was slightly dissapointed (but also a bit relieved) when she said that because of recent laws it no longer was. She took my on an elephant ride, a camal ride and let me feed an elephant seal. All pretty mundane stuff that I could have done at any other zoo. But then she consulted her boss and brought me to the staff area. Her and the trainer let me into the cage with an adult Bengal tiger, which was awesome in and of itself. However, one of the most unforgettable experiences of my life was when they brought me to an adjoining cage where the feline´s four 10-day-old cubs were crawling around. They let me hold one and take a few photos before I had to leave. Definitely a high point to my time in Bs. As.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb