Down Time


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
February 12th 2007
Published: February 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Theatre
Saw Cibrian-Mahler's Dracula at the Opera Theatre last weekend. The show was written and performed in Spanish, and the music was incredible. Nothing on the Broadway scale or anything like that, but still it was entertaining if you like musicals.
Check out the website: http://www.cibrianmahler.com.ar/

Tango
I took a tango class last week. More on this later. I intend to continue with classes as time permits.

Fútbol
Last night I attended my first partido de fútbol (Argentine Soccer Game). Two of my roommates' friends took me to the game. What they say about Argentines and their love of soccer is true. These people are truly fanatics. Much like the student section at an LSU game, the fans don't sit or stop singing chants until the game is over.

Friends
My roommate Agustina has been including me in all of her social outings, while my other roommate Soledad will return from holiday tomorrow. How Argentines do love to get together with friends. At least three times a week my roommates will either have people over for dinner or will dine at another's home. Argentines simply cannot understand why Americans don't spend more time with close friends in the evenings. In fact, it is unusual for a group of friends to go even one week without a girl's night out or the guys going for beers and fútbol! Funny.

I have also become friends with a German gal named Renate. I met her in Spanish class; she is a joy; I am lucky to have her as my friend.

Swimming
Trying to do it. Trying hard but the pool is a 40 minute walk away, and I am so much busier than I ever expected to be. I get there once maybe twice a week if I am lucky.




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Palermo ParkPalermo Park
Palermo Park

I like to walk here.


23rd February 2007

So much fun in BA!
Gretch -- I love the pictures. You appear as though you are enjoying every minute! I am jealous of your surroundings -- how beautiful! With all your socializing, I hope you have time to sleep some too! Miss ya!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb