Cruisin’ in the Mediterranean


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas
June 29th 2009
Published: June 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

shhh!shhh!shhh!

you never saw this pic!
Sunday we boarded the ship, Voyageur of the Seas, which is part of the Royal Caribbean fleet of ships. There are over 3000 passengers just on this ship. I found the adult pool almost right away, a bar right by the pool and whirlpool. Wi-Fi is not available everywhere or in my room. But it is in the Pig & Whistle pub, I think that’s where I will be posting from. Yesterday, I worked out at the gym while the ship left the port of Barcelona. Rather than standing around on the deck, I had a view of Barcelona as we sailed past, from the gym while working out, which made the time on the machines go faster. The spa looks amazing and if I can afford to, I would go for a little bit of fun there.

Today is a full day at sea, but far from nothing to do. I’ve booked my excursions which is hard to do because there are so many amazing sites to choose. I won’t tell you which ones I’ve decided on, you’ll have to wait and see. I’ve gone to a champaign art auction where we could bid on the ones we liked. Apparently I have expensive taste, I loved the Salvador Dali pieces 😞. Funny because I’ve never cared for his stuff before now. These pieces are originals, not prints, so I can’t afford them.

I can tell you we are sailing currently around Italy and the weather is beautiful, warm & sunny. Tonight is formal night. Tomorrow is on land. I’ve met some very nice friendly people from Australia and Chicago today. So many languages are spoken here on the ship by the other passengers. It hasn’t taken long to adjust to the 5 hour time change from home, but going back will be rough. I’m often getting up when some of you are going to bed. Internet access is expensive on the ship so I draft my notes & upload my pics before going online. Gotta run, need to head to the gym & pool while it’s still afternoon here.

Ciao!


Advertisement



29th June 2009

Not in Kansas anymore
This is a great site. I've been following the daily updates, good job. It looks like you're having a great time. If you haven't booked all of your excursions or missed getting an excursion through the cruiseline you may want to consider getting a few friends together and creating your own excursion. We had done that on our cruise stop in Barbados. Seven of us booked a taxi for the day and we set our own list of places to visit. The nice thing was we saw what we wanted and at our own pace. If you haven't heard the weather here has been pretty damp since you left and is supposed to be like that all week.

Tot: 0.341s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb