I Hope You Like Jammin Too!


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Pacific » Tasman Sea
December 7th 2009
Published: December 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Greetings Friends! So you've all heard the hype about me flying to NZ and sitting next to the lead singer of the Wailers, Junior Marvin. Well, I rearranged my vaca plans so I could attend their concert in Auckland the Saturday after I arrived in Auckland. So after some sightseeing in the city and a trip out to Raglan we returned for the Wailers live at the Power Station! The Power Station is very similar to a certain choice club that is also a time of day (night) located at 9th and V St in Wasington DC. The Power Station, like the 9:30 Club has the stage at one end with a horseshoe shaped standing room and a second tiered level with a railing that wraps around the entire second floor, overlooking the stage and concert goers on the first level. This place is just like that, but only much newer and has great site lines, not to mention a VIP bar behind the regular bar up on the second floor.

So we met up with our friend Susan who met us for drink across from the concert hall before heading in for the big show. I was excited, the show was sold out and Junior was suppose to wear a certain ranger uniform that was gifted to him on the plane ride. We showed our IDs at the door and were all on the guest list, just as he said we would be (he even called Paul's house to confirm that we were on the list earlier that afternoon)! When we got inside the Power Station, I became a tourist and started taking all kinds of pictures of this very cool (and clean) venue. Then after standing near what we be equivilant to "my post" at 930 Club, I decided to work my way up front for some phots ops in case Junior wore the uniform. While I'm doing this I befriended a very large Maori dude whos buddies were running security (and even bigger than him) across the front barrier. I was trying to figure out if the guy tuning a guitar on stage was Junior or not, for he was wearing a hoody and sunglasses on the plane (rockstars!). As I am trying to get his attention, the lights dim and out walks Junior Marvin ... WEARING A MD PARK SERVICE SHIRT! Whoa! WOW! I was stunned and couldn't stop grinning everytime I looked up at the patches with logos on the shoulders of the shirt. To see a MD uniform being worn on stage half way around the world, and to know that it is your shirt ... too cool! Then I remembered I went up for a photo op and started blowing through my camera memory. I didn't care how many of the same shot I took, I was trying to get every angle I could and of him singing, playing guitar, and just rocking out on stage. I also thought he would take the shirt off after a song or two to be more comfortable in a T shirt I could see on underneath. Nope! He wore my shirt for the entire show! So needless to say, this was a pretty cool concert. For the return trip to Paul's house I became the DD and must say I did a great job driving on the other side of the road.

The next day I attempted to get my borrowed cell phone with internet up and running but everywhere I called said it would take a couple days or that their technician wasn't available until later in the week. At this point Julia and I had rearranged our plans also to hike now on the South Island for her 11 day trek for her grad school prereq. So the next day we would fly from Auckland to Wellington then fly over to Nelson on the South Island and get transport to the port city of Havelock before taking a mailboat to the Tira Ora resort/lodge out in the Marlborough Sound. So on our last day in Auckland we took a trip over to Paul's work where he is the assistant manager at Living Simply http://www.livingsimplynz.com/ an outdoor retail store in a mall in downtown Auckland. It is a cool store and they have so many cool tech products and outdoor gear I was glad all I bought was a ThermaRest stuff sack and a map!

We headed back to Paul's to do our final duffle shuffle before we headed to the South the next morning. We would leave some clothes in stuff in Auckland at Paul's for our final stop through on Dec 23rd before heading back State-side. We treated Paul and Inga to fish and chips that night and I found it hard to get to sleep as some real NZ adventures were about to begin.

Join me next time when I tell about why religious overtones should be stated upfront when advertising for work-for-stay!

When you hear Vampire Weekend, turn it up and think of me.

Thank yous: Paul and Inga, Junior Marvin

Wildlife sightings: a Weta, which is about a 3 inch scary cricket with fangs looking thing that they say is harmless ... hm

WWG



Advertisement



7th December 2009

Pictures, man!!!!!! Pictures!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb