The middle of nowhere


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic
March 18th 2009
Published: March 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Put your finger on a map in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean. Go ahead, do it, I'll wait.

K, did you find it? The farthest point from any piece of land that is around? Good. That's where I am right now. The middle of Nowhere. After three days at sea, I can safely say that I prefer land over water anyday. I look out the window and what do I see? Water. No coast. No other ships. No buildings. Nope. Just water.

Because of this fact, I try to sleep as much as I can to help the hours click by faster. I found myself in my room thinking about home and missing everyone terribly. So today, I decided to change that. I woke up early, got breakfast, and began getting busy. I signed up with the Show Excursions office today to be a tour guide for one of the port days in Portugal. "But Charlie, how can you do this? You know nothing about Portugal." A good point, but the ship allows crew members to sign up to go along with the tours, which are being run by different people. So I'm not really a tour guide, that's just my bogus title so I can take the bus/mini boat tour around to see the sites. We're going to be cruising down a river (can't remember the name. starts with a T), taking pictures, and I think there's wine tasting!!! Sounds good to me.

Oops! I forgot to tell you all about the Bahamas!! So, Ft. Lauderdale came and went. We sailed there around 8pm and arrived in Half Moon Cay, Bahamas at 11am the next morning. Open tender started at noon, so I was on the island by 1pm, with nothing but my hat, sunglasses, and my sunblock. I didn't need any cash because the island is owned by Holland America. So I just told the bar my room number, and they charged me that way. By the way, these Pina Coladas were the best on earth. (Sorry Mom, better than yours) But I think what made them better was the fact that I was enjoying them in 82 degree sun, a slight breeze and a perfect view of the most colorful, fantastic, gorgeous sight I've ever seen. I'm going to have to say that Half Moon Cay is the prettiest place in the world.....that I've been to so far, that is.

K, back to me being busy on the ship. I also talked to the Event Manager, Monica (my boss), and she decided that I could run an event on ship about music composition. It starts tomorrow in the Explorer's Lounge at 2:30pm, and I'm very excited about it. I hope people show up. I'm basically planning on showing people how I go about writing songs, and hopefully we'll start writing a song together.....you know, audience participation and all. I'll let you know how it goes. Later in the week, I'll also be teaching an intro class to sign-language 😊

I still have four more sea days, so everyone at home can be expecting another call from me soon. We land on a small island off the coast that's owned by Portugal on the 21st, I wanna say. I'll get another update before than. Love you all. Miss you tons. I'll be back in the good ol' U S of A in less than two weeks.

Bye 😊

Advertisement



18th March 2009

EDITING
I can't edit my posts, and I didn't proofread this one.....When I said "Show Excursions", I really meant "SHORE EXCURSIONS". K. There. It's fixed :)

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb