And we're off!


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic
January 7th 2009
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everybody!
We made it! We're sailing away off the coast of France, heading South toward the Canary Islands which will be our first stop. The flight from Minneapolis went perfectly -- we had a female captain! -- but I was dismayed to see a layer of snow at the London (Heathrow) airport. I thought we'd left that all behind us. They say they are having their coldest winter since 2000. Of course, it is nothing compared to Minnesota.
A car was waiting at the airport to whisk us down to Southampton where we stayed overnight. We boarded the ship, Black Watch, in the afternoon. Our dock was next to the one from which the Titanic sailed. The ship is quite nice. Not too big, only 800 passengers. I think Mom and I will be able to find our way around soon (but not yet!) There are only two other Americans on board as far as we know, so we are quite an oddity. It's a good thing I've watched all those years of Masterpiece Theatre so I can usually tell what these Brits are saying. By the way, everyone we've talked with is excited about Obama and the changes they expect him to bring. They also are disgusted with their own government...

Sorry, but I won't be able to send pictures from the ship's computers. I hope that when we are in port I can find a Wi-fi area to use my laptop.
Thanks to all of you who are reading this. I'll write again when I have something to say. Incidentally, the "at" sign on their keyboard is not located above the "3" key, but way over near the "enter" key. It took a while to find!
Suzy

Advertisement



8th January 2009

Have fun
Suzy, I hope you all have loads of fun on the trip. Enjoy your time at sea. Joy Weston Peters
30th January 2009

Just found your blog and love reading your impressions. It's been very cold, as you know, but the persistent sunshine makes it tolerable. Co Rd. 13 is icy but everyone seems to be traveling slowly. I just finished Infidel and am in the midst of The Faith Club--two very different views os Islam!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb