What a day


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » North Atlantic
June 21st 2012
Published: June 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

What a privilege we had today, when we got a call from the bridge telling us there were some whales outside, and we should go take a look. We all rushed out to the deck to see the most magnificent sight ever. There were literally hundreds of Pilot whales all around the boat. Sometimes they were almost close enough to see their face. They swarmed all sides of us, in small groups of 2-6 whales.



We all had our cameras with us, but I couldn’t really take any pictures, I just stood there and watched these amazing beings, free in their natural environment, doing what is natural to them. It probably won’t surprise those of you who know me that I got all teary. I think his was one of the most amazing things I have ever seen.



We only spent about half an hour outside in the freezing cold watching the whales, but this half hour won’t be forgotten soon.



What a great day.



Here are a few pictures that Miguel took. We have hundreds of them between us, but I can only upload a few.

Daniella


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb