Hervey Bay -> Airlie beach


Advertisement
Oceania
January 7th 2008
Published: January 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The last few days have been action packed. I am now in Hervey Bay, the gateway to the Whitsunday Islands.

On our travels we went bare foot lawn bowling. I must say it's not the most exciting sport I have participated but still worth trying out just for the sake of it.

On the way to Hervey Bay we stopped at Kroombit Cattle Station. The country folks were friendly and I tried out few activites on the farm like horse riding and clay pigeon shooting. Goat Rodeo (catching a goat and stamping it with an artificial rod). Mechanical bull riding (bit painful but really good fun). We also tried whip cracking but I gave up after hitting myself. I didn't know the cracking sound is made when the tip of the whip breaks the sound barrier (sonic boom!) interesting stuff. The stay at the cattle station was fun and glad to be away from the rain!

I am not too far from Carins. It's hot and humid here in Airlie beach. I had been getting a bad soar throat and a quick visit to the hospital confirmed that I had tonsillitis! I didn't know the Oz has a reciprocal agreement with U.K so I didn't have to pay the bill for the check up and the medicine. So the last couple of days weren't comfortable but this is all part of travelling.

The main reason for coming to Airlie beach was going sailing on the Whitsundays, 74 islands and great barrier reef marine park. I was on a sailing boat for 3 days and two nights. The introduction to boat life was not what I was expecting (remember this is was not a luxury curise liner...) I thought living in hostel dorms could get cosy and but sure beats all the hostels. However, there are many rewards living on a boat. The relaxing over turquoise water, listening to music, seeing different islands and learning about sailing (very technical I thought!). And at night - staring at the heavens and watching the sky lit up with millions of stars... absoutely amazing view!

My highlight of the trip was visiting the whiteheaven beach. This place is paradise and the best beach I have come across during my travels. White sand and clear blue water. Being in the Reef system, the snorkelling in interesting and beautful. Many things to see and it also has a dream like quality snorkelling over water.

I have just realised how many entries I have writting in a short amount of time. Considering what I have gone through already it seems a lot. I guess 1 day in travelling life can seem lot longer than how time passes by in working life. Anyway, I am a lot better now and it's the after boat/sailing trip after party, also last night in Airlie beach.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 84; dbt: 0.1087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb