Strike - still in Honiara


Advertisement
Solomon Islands' flag
Oceania » Solomon Islands » Guadalcanal
August 25th 2009
Published: August 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Our room at the ManadanaOur room at the ManadanaOur room at the Manadana

Micheal, Carl and I sharing a room at the manadana before departing the Solomons
On Monday 24th August, Carl,Michael - the two men and I - left the Wyuna and decided to check into a hotel to get ourselves sorted out, cleaned and laundry cleaned etc. We all shared the one room. It is amazing how after spending 3 weeks together on a boat - how intimate one gets. You may be wondering who shared with who??? I will keep you guessing!! It was Sooooo…. Nice to get a bath and use as much water as we wanted with out hearing the captain say don’t waste water!!! I got my laundry cleaned so I had clean stuff to put in my suitcase. The other thing I really enjoyed was not having to cook a meal!!!It was great. I have to say I will always miss the rocking of the boat. It must be in my blood or something.

On Monday there as a strike of government worker so the airport was closed. However by mid afternoon it was resolved. Oh the joys of traveling!!! In spite of the strike ending, we discovered that our plane the following day may not arrive even though the strike was over. We were all unhappy. First thing Tuesday
Sue in the Galley on WyunaSue in the Galley on WyunaSue in the Galley on Wyuna

My main hangout on the wyuna!!
morning we went to the travel agent to find out what was happening. We arranged alternative flights paid our money and then left to tell the necessary people of our changed flights.. I went to the internet to change my flight from Auckland to nelson and check my emails. Midway through the afternoon we get a call from the travel agent to say that Air Pacific is putting on a special flight from Nadir to Honiara and it will be leaving 8.30 on Wednesday morning. We go back to the travel agent and the boys get there tickets refunded and put onto the necessary flight. I on the other hand find it easier to keep my reservation as I will have missed my connection out of Nadir for Auckland. So in the end a happy ending, The boys left early this morning and I will leave at lunch time.
I am looking forward to seeing my friend in Nelson New Zealand. I will arrive there Thursday morning. I am not sure where I will spend the night as I arrive in Auckland at 11.45pm and my flight leaves at 8.00am. Keep you posted. I am not looking forward to the cold temperatures in New Zealand!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 55; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb