Sailing the South Pacific : SEASICK!


Advertisement
Samoa's flag
Oceania » Samoa » Upolu » Apia
August 13th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's been the better part of three weeks now since I left and had internet access... where do I begin??? Currently, I am in Samoa, home of the Samoan, land of an island. I am enjoying a steady boat, running water, showers, and environmental stimulation. No, wait a minute. Let me backup... Journal entry : July 26th - DEPARTURE! we set sail july 24th @ 830am from the hawaiian yacht club. after the sails were hoisted, after the shore lines stowed, i sent a final text to some family and friends. immediately after, i received my phone's last incoming call... seppi! how fitting, the friend who had taught me how to sail. yet as excited as i was to be leaving land and chatting with seppi, my enthusiasm was quickly diluted with an ever growing seasickness despite all pharmaceutical measures taken. a crippling nausea followed by violent vomiting would ensue for the next 36 hrs. and as i prayed for death, as i wretched overboard, i couldn't help but to nervously think to myself, "perhaps maybe i made a BIG mistake taken on this voyage". because the reality of relief does not exist when there is none. however, ian continually encouraged me that in a day or so it would pass. hours after it's initial onset, i passed out in a deep, diaphoretic sleep. despite my ill state and krysia's offering to cover my first night watch, i was determined not to miss my first evening of responsibility. after a four hour nap, i choked down a small meal and a bottle of water. thereafter, i confirmed with the crew i'd be alright and to wake me for the 3am shift. then i promptly sought solace in sleep once again. my only relief, though slight, was found being supine below deck. fortunately, rest came easily and when it was time, i stepped out with weary legs into the late evening salty air and stood my watch under the sneezed splattered starry sky... and then i threw up.

Advertisement



14th August 2008

Seasick
Oh man how terrible that must of been - and no way to get relief anywhere. they say jumping in the water gets rid of it yep yep! Sorry kid I am still laughing about your sick adventure - can not help it - must be the excellent way you described it - " and then you threw up." Cowboy Dad

Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 99; dbt: 0.0767s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb