Background: The eastern half of the island of New Guinea - second largest in the world - was divided between Germany (north) and the UK (south) in 1885. The latter area was transferred to Australia in 1902, which occupied the northern portion during World War I and continued to administer the combined areas until independence in 1975. A nine-year secessionist revolt on the island of Bougainville ended in 1997 after claiming some 20,000 lives.

Photos from Morobe

No Morobe Travel Blogs, Photos and Forum Start a Travel Diary Free Travel Blog Site

Blogs from Morobe

Latest Blog Posts from Morobe

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0518s; 30; m:apollo w:www (; sld: 4; ; mem: 6.2mb