That's more like it!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
August 11th 2006
Published: August 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sun...Sun...Sun...

...over lake...
Well, I'm starting to see some of the appeal of this place. After arriving in the South Island, and still feeling distinctly underwhelmed by Christchurch and Dunedin, I've come to Queenstown. Can't deny that the lakeside setting surrounded by snow capped peaks, is spectacular (though I can't help feeling that I'd be less impressed had I made it to Bariloche....)!! Went up the gondola (cable car), and then had a very pleasant walk back down.

However, after my 2 nights there is when things really improved! I picked up my hire car, and headed on down to Milford Sound. By this time, the weather had improved from relentless drizzle (something I'd almost managed to forget existed in the last 7 or so months), to completely, stunningly clear. Loved the drive down, and checked into my hostel. Went down the only pub in town for some grub and beers, after which we got invited by some locals to "a fire on the beach". Beach is a loose term, it was basically a few pebbles at the end of the fiord. However, the sky was still beautifully clear, there was a full moon hidden away behind one of the mountains somewhere, and
Track...Track...Track...

...over Queenstown
the silhouettes of surrounding mountains were sharply defined, with areas of snow glowing brightly. Unfortunately I didn't have my camera with me, so no pics of that.

So onto today, in the morning I took a cruise down the fiord and back, then drove back up here to Queenstown. Off up the west coast tomorrow.

On the money front, I'm sure if I'd come from the UK, I'd be loving the prices here. But at the moment, having arrived from South America (even if via Tahiti), everything seems ridiculously expensive!!! I keep seeing flyers for really cool, exciting things to do, like the insane "fly-by-wire", then screram HOOOOOW MUUUUCHHHH!!!!!! when I see the price!!

Ah well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

One end...One end...
One end...

...of Milford Sound...
Other end...Other end...
Other end...

...of Milford Sound...
Waterfall...Waterfall...
Waterfall...

...at Milford Sound...


11th August 2006

I knew it
I knew you would start to like the place eventually! I can confirm that it is cheap coming straight from the UK. Remember to check out the glaciers on the west coast.

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0883s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb