The Remarkables


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
August 16th 2012
Published: August 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

I got up early to drive up to The Remarkables ski fields. The guys had said it would be easy and I wouldnt need snow chains. They were right about the latter but the former.....it was far from easy!!!

At first it was bloody scary as there was a big queue of people behind me and I went a bit too quick and started sliding in the steep, stoney corners at the beginning. As I got further up the scenery was amazing and it helped to distract me from the ridiculous steep drops down off the road! The road winded up for 14km and as I got futher up the ground was a bit icey and there was snow on the verge. Fortunately there was none on the road so snow tyres weren't neccessary!

Even though I let lots of cars past on the way up I was still in the front row of cars in the carpark which was very easy to get up to the base building and sort out my ski pass for the next two days! I had a great morning getting my ski legs back and enjoying the snow for the first time in 3 years. The view from up on the slopes was amazing and the sun was out making it rather warm, for a ski resort at least!

Benny, Ron, Matt and Ali, who had been working the previous night, met me on the slopes around lunchtime and we headed up to the snow park. The guys pulled off some sweet tricks from 180s through to 360s whilst I skied alongside and watched.... The main reason for me not being involved, apart from the fact I have awful coordination, is that I am pretty sure that my travel insurance did not cover skiing, sorry mum!

Tommo arrived for a it but wasnt feeling too well so headed home. The rest of us enjoyed the brilliant weather and snow until 3ish when we grabbed a bite to eat, before deciding to head down to the town for some beers. Non of the guys were man enough to join me in the car but I kindly took the skis and boots back down to the hostel. The trip down the mountain was a lot easier as I took my time and enjoyed the views.

I met the guys at Xtreme Bar and grabbed myself a "Mandle", a litre glass of ale! We chilled out and watched some re-runs of the Community Shield match and the England v Italy friendly. Matts lady friend Becca showed up and the Mandles kept flowing, followed by a burger, until around 9pm when we headed back to the flat.

We had a couple of G&Ts and discussed Ali's Theory of Birds, which likend women to pans on a hob that you have to keep warm but not burn....actually made some sense and if you want to know more just ask him or me! I had to head up the coast the next afternoon so said goodbye to some of the guys, even though they kept trying to make me stay! Would have loved to but have to spread my time very well amongst all my friends and relatives!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb