Among the mountains


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
November 30th 2010
Published: November 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

dipped_wingdipped_wingdipped_wing

Mt Cook and its glacial lake.
Made it. Am breathing under the Remarkables again. Another early start yesterday, a smooth flight to Christchurch where I managed to find a screen showing the last day of the first ashes test (replay) while I waited for the next flight.

Flight to Queenstown was magical. We rose above the clouds and I jumped out of my (south-facing) window seat as soon as the seatbelt light went off and parked myself on the only remaining seat on the other (north-facing) side of the plane. Already the Southern Alps were in view. Glacial lakes and soaring peaks stretched away as far as my mind could see.

Only took about 10 minutes of politely turning down drinks and snacks before the majesty of Mt Cook came into view. Always takes my breath away. It stands so much taller than everything around it. As I struggled to get a plane-free shot of the rock-floor glistening lake alongside the mountain, the captain kindly dipped his wing and there she was. The lovely stewardess had popped up to see the captain and mentioned the nut virtually hanging off the wing to get a clear shot 😊

And so we landed among the mountains in Queenstown - interesting approach with mountains on either side.

A bus trip into town, my old haunt of a hostel found, I headed into town and bought far too many maps and a hut pass from the DOC (Department of Conservation) office, picked up tickets for transport to and from the first tramp and wandered around the supermarket trying to remember what I used to take with me on tramps.

Body still in the wrong time zone, so slept from later afternoon through till an hour or two ago. Dawn is rising out the window and Ben Lomond calls so it's time to pack a day bag, don the boots and find the striding mountain ridge and perhaps the summit.

I have less time than I thought (having lost a day) so things are getting a bit compressed. If I can get out early and thus back early(ish - it's a 6-8 hr stomp to the summit) then I might have enough time to get the last bits I need and pack the bag for the 3-day Greenstone tramp that begins around this time tomorrow.

So, nuff time scribbling at you - the hills await.

Advertisement



6th December 2010

At Last!
Well done, nice picture of Mt Cook and the trailing edge of the wing following t he line of the glacier. Notice t hat the comments are still quite sensible. Haven't put my silly hat on yet :-)

Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb