Jump Around.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
January 2nd 2010
Published: January 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

On New Years Day here in New Zealand, we went bungy jumping.

Our jump was at 4:55pm on January 1st here in Queenstown, which was approximately 11:55pm on December 31st back at home.

The guy who tied me in and I had a brief talk about hockey when he found out I was from Canada, but I decided to let him focus on what he was doing after a couple of minutes....mainly so he did it right.

The wind was blowing like crazy when it was our time to jump, making it that much harder to walk out to the end of the ledge and hurl yourself off of it. Sitting in line and watching everyone go ahead of you just lets the nervousness build up a little more. The guy in front of us was attempting it for the third time that day (He didn't jump either of the first two times), and kept counting down from 3 and then grabbing on to the rail again, refusing to actually jump. Everyone began cheering him on.

Once again, they counted down and when they yelled "Three!", he tried to catch himself again but was a little
The View from the Above.The View from the Above.The View from the Above.

Great Shot of the Kawarau River below.
too late this time. He did a slow-motion tumble off the side of the ledge as he frantically tried to grab at the rail, with one of the more terrified looks I have ever seen. But hey, at least he ended up doing it.

Leigh Ann and I did the tandem jump and it was the most unreal 30 seconds of my life. The actual jump is somewhat of a blur, although a very intense one. By the time you realize what is going on again, you are being lowered into the boat and being taken back to shore. The actual ride is indescribable.

I hope everyone had a safe and happy New Years back home. I see that the weather has been crap, and I have to say that it's been lousy here as well. It's rained the last few days here in Queenstown after basically no rain-days for the first two months of my trip. Our tent broke in a windstorm the other night and we've been sleeping in the car ever since.

We're continuing to travel around the South Island, with hopefully some work in the fruit orchards coming up over the next couple
Mid-FlightMid-FlightMid-Flight

Leigh Ann and I
of weeks. It looks like I will be home around the beginning of February, so try and get everything plowed by the time I get back, please?








Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Taking off. Taking off.
Taking off.

At this exact moment, I shit myself.


2nd January 2010

YOU GUYS ARE CRAZY!!!!
Awesome shots......but I would NEVER do that!!!!!!!! Happy New Year !!!!
3rd January 2010

Holy S*#t
I'm just glad to know that you are both okay. It does look awesome though, and if I were 25 years younger, I must consider it............alas, I am not. The scenery is spectacular, and the water is the same colour as Cuba. Looking forward to seeing the rest of the pics. Love Mom,Dad and Baciā™„

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb