Nelson - Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
May 28th 2008
Published: June 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well this is my last entry for New Zealand. Sad to be leaving but excited about Australia!!

The last couple of weeks have been hectic to say the least! From Nelson I travelled down the coast to Greymouth, Franz Joseph & Wanaka before stopping in Queenstown for a few days. Along the way I jet boated in the Buller gorge which was awesome fun. Picked the wrong sit though as I ended up at the back on the right of the boat. Well lets just say I got absolutely soaked!!!

We also stopped at Lake Matheson which has great reflections of Mt Cook, unfortunately the cloud was a little low and we couldn't see it but still got some good pic's. We stopped at various other places along the way to break the journey. It was good to see again as I'd already seen some of the coastline at the start of my trip.

In my few days at Queenstown I climbed the Gondola to have a look back over the city which was well worth it even if it did knacker me out!!, Did a canyon swing and visited Milford Sound.

Milford sound was amazing. It's so beautiful and very peaceful. Although I had a long journey there and back it was well worth it. I'm just sorry I didn't have more time there. It's definately somewhere I'll visit again. I did the boat ride out and back but there are lots of walks in the area which I would imagine to be stunning. There are lots of waterfalls and wildlife to see along the way. If peace and tranquility is what you want definately spend some time here!

Now onto my Canyon Swing. When I first visited I watched my friend Stu do two swings and decided when I came back that I was going to the swing called Gimp Boy. I was completely ready for it until the guy on the platform convinced me to go Backwards first to enjoy the gimp boy swing more! Me being me said ok. Well lets just say I completely poo'ed myself because you can't see anything until you've plucked up the courage to jump of this platform backwards and are dropping into the gorge!!! The guys were right though my second jump was much more fun and adrenaline rush!! They winched me out, then I had to turn myself upside down and they 'pull the pin' and you drop head first. Absolutely wicked!! Hopefully the video is attached!

Once I had scared myself silly with all the adrenaline stuff it was time to head back to Christchurch for a day before flying to Oz. I took the bus out to the Gondola which looks back out over the Banks Peninsula, Lyttleton, Sumner Bay & Christchurch. I walked around the top for a bit as it was such a nice day, the views were amazing. A great end to 3 months in New Zealand.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb