Hostels and Hospitals


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
June 28th 2007
Published: June 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mount DoomMount DoomMount Doom

(Really Tongariro National Park)
OK, just to clear up some confusion.... The other day I got a phone call from my dad at 8:51 in the am here (why so early, Dad?) and I was in a hostel dorm room where other people were sleeping. So, like a considerate individual, I whispered to my dad that I was in a hostel and would call him right back from outside my room. When I called him back he sounded startled because he thought I said "hospital" not "hostel." I understand that they might sound similar, but unfortunately, I am staying in hostels, where people are crammed in a small room on bunk beds, where you can never get enough sleep because there is at least one person that snores or talks in their sleep or stumbles in at 3 am pissed drunk, where the kitchens are always messy because of some obliviots who don't want to clean their dishes, where you have to walk a mile to get to the bathrooms, and where there is always a young eager backpacker that wants to talk to you when all you want to do is read your book. A hospital (and I am speaking of the Auckland City Hosp.) has fluffy down pillows, clean linens (with hospital corners of course!), cute dermotologists (sigh), your own room with your own bathroom, and all the food you can eat (which was quite good too!). Alas, I am staying in hostels. The only positive is that hostels only cost NZ$17-NZ$20 a night, where the hospital room cost NZ$70 an hour.

So enough of my lodgings, I have seen some amazing scenery!!!! I didn't hike through Mordor due to the weather and my dengies, but I did get to see Mount Doom. Check out the photos! After leaving the central area of the north island, I headed down to Wellington, the capital city of New Zealand. It was an OK city. Not my favorite so far (how can you compare with Auckland and its great hospital?) However, along the way I made friends with some very crazy English guys and an Irish guy as well. We had some fun experiencing Wellington's night life and acting like complete lunatics (them more than me, of course!) However, I realized that traveling with my English mates is far more expensive than traveling by myself (because I don't drink nearly as much by myself!). But, I have been budgeting so we can tear up the bar scene here in Queenstown.

OK, that's all for now. enjoy the photos. I will have much more to talk about after I bungy jump in two days....134 meters, 8 seconds of free fall..... I can't wait!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Me and the sealsMe and the seals
Me and the seals

I hiked along the south coast outside of Wellington to see this seal colony. If anyone makes a comment about this photo... so help you.
Me and the gangMe and the gang
Me and the gang

Brian, Me, Tom, Sarah, and Dave


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb