Lazy qtn day


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Queenstown
December 12th 2010
Published: December 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Lazy day in Queenstown today.

Have returned the hire car as it would be wasteful to have it hanging around for the next six days while I go off tramping. A day of menial tasks - washing is drying as I type so I can then pack once I'm done here. Have been out and bought an x-mug and an x-plate to replace the aforementioned dying ones. Have booked transport out from the last day of the Cascade Saddle.

So, tomorrow morning I dump a bag here and head off with a rucksack, to return here in six days (Saturday). The days unfold like this:
Monday: Bus to Wanaka, check in hostel up there, get last few top-up food bits (running out of muesli bars)
Tuesday: Up to the DOC office first thing to claim a hut ticket for Aspiring hut (it's an NZAC hut), double-check the weather isn't going to play any nasty tricks on me, then pick up my transport to the road end (Raspberry creek) and a 2-3 hr hike in to the hut.
Wednesday: Rise early and begin the slog up to the saddle. It'll be four hours of so of uphill with a big pack on my back before I get to the top, then 6 hours across to Dart hut, skirting the Dart glacier. I'm looking forward to the view down a sheer 1000ft wall of rock from the saddle and can't wait to walk alongside the mighty glacier.
Thursday: Dart hut > Daley's Flat (6-8 hrs) hut along the top of the Rees valley
Friday: Early start for a 6 hr trek to the road end and hope to get there in enough time to pick up my 2pm transport to Glenorchy. Arrive Glenorchy, shower off the mud and glacial rubble and then relax with a cold beer and a venison steak.
Saturday: Transport to Queenstown
Sunday: Pick up a car again and head back up to Wanaka, preparing for a two-nighter up to Liverpool hut

Well done to the boys back home for managing the annual footietime.com xmas get together - sorry I couldn't join you but thanks for the pic Luis. Hope the collection of aging feet, ankles, knees, hips, and livers all survived again this year ;-)

Advertisement



23rd December 2010

A plan?
What's going on. A PLAN... How dare you.... Just goes to show that you're not at work in anarchy

Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb