Kaikoura -> Wellington


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Kaikoura
February 5th 2008
Published: February 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Kaikoura


Was the stop after Christchurch. It's popular for Whale watching so that's what we did! Whale watching, like any other animal watching requries some patience. Anyway, we did get a sight or two of the whale and the tail. I found the documentry on whales interesting, fascinating creatures, they can dive so deep.

I found the Kaikoura to be beautiful with the mountains in the background. Shame it's not winter so there is no snow otherwise a lot of the places would look even more beautiful. I went for a coast walk in Kaikoura and it was the best one so far! It's rugged coast is really beautiful. I spent a lot of time just relaxing, watching the coast and listening to the sound of the sea. Really relaxing.

Wellington



We took the ferry from the south island to Wellington. It seems a bit strange to be in a city again after staying in small towns. I found the city intersting. It's really compact. I started the day by visting Te Papa Museum (really interesting) then on to the city art gallery. I had to take the cable car up to the botanic gardens. Most of the places are within walking distance and it the pace is slow.

I am now in north island and sad to leave the south island 😞 I had a brilliant time in the south. Amazing scenery and people on the travels. I haven't being partying that much in NZ, no way compare to Oz but I am enjoying it a lot more. The hostels here are really cosy and a lot of the nights we have been watching movies as there isn't much to do in small towns. But I really enjoying staying in remote small towns, preferably in alpine region! The north island is meant to be less scenic than south. I am looking forward to my next city/town.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb