New Zealand - Geraldine - White Water Rafting (Paddys Day)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Geraldine
March 18th 2010
Published: March 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Had a relatively nice lie in! We weren't getting started until 10.30 but I had to be up for brekkie coz it's included in the price. Toast and jam, scrummy. So there was another Swedish group that arrived and we all made our way to the back where they explained how everything works. We got into some extremely tight wet suits that are designed for men so I had a huge crotch area hanging down, lovely. It was far too big for me but I guess I can't be picky. The bus came and took us to where the rafting begins. After a couple of photo moments we climb into our raft. This river goes right upto grade 5 waves which are the biggest you can raft in! I had seen videos and was actually feeling pretty nervous. We started off on a gentle part and they explained all the different stuff we had to do and how to paddle etc. Eventually the waves began getting bigger and splashing us.. maaaaaan it was the coldest water I had ever been in! The river was actually melted ice so it was extra freezing, my hands were actually in pain they were that cold. It was cool though, and then the biggest waves were IMMENSE! Completely drenched us but it was so much fun. After that we all had to jump in and let the current take us down to the next area.. however I was too much of a pussy and couldn't handle the cold and got back into the raft, I was the only one! I don't care if I not man enough to stay in water that cold, it's not natural! After a bit more rafting we had to jump off a 5meter cliff into the water, that was kind of cool but high enough for me.. the next one was 10meters and I didn't do it! Enough was enough for me, I just enjoyed watching the others. You'd think after doing bungy I'd be able to jump off a 10meter rock eh, but it's a LOT higher than you think and way scarier tbh! So shivering our tits off we all got back into the bus and headed back to the lodge. The hot showers were delightfulllllllll. After getting sorted we munched on a delicious bbq, although the Swedes ate all the roast potatoes the selfish bastards. Then we looked at our photos, they were hilarious!! I didn't buy any though, just gonna tag myself when the others put theirs up. I need to stop buying photos and dvds, that's where they get the money outta ya! Then it was time to goooo. Good ol' Ron was here to give us a lift up to Christchurch. I slept most the journey, twas nice. Kate and Jack got out to go and stay with their friend Penny, they said they were getting the stray bus with me on Friday but they never did in the end! So that's the end of them.. and I headed in with the other 2 to Base hostel. I got in the room and got all depressed again, no-one was here and I had nothing to do. Went online for a bit, still bored. Luckily I bumped into one of the rafters on the way out and we decided to go for a walk round ChCh. It was just a city really, nothing oustanding about it. However as it was Paddys day everywhere was flaunting green and drunk people roamed the streets. We thought we should probably get in the party spirit and got some wine and KFC to take upto the room. So we never ended up going out.. in fact we spent the entire night getting drunk in my room and talking about the men in our life! Typical females eh? I bitched about how I wanted to be with Dave and she bitched about a guy she really hurt and felt awful for. She's actually really lovely.. and from New York City, how swish! She says she actually does live a SATC lifestyle, how jealous am I right now! So she was leaving the next day so that's another one saying goodbye to. So I signed online and yet again there's my darling to greet me. We decided to try and Skype but his net was too slow, I did get to hear his voice though for a bit.. ahhh it kind of upset me. It was so weird hearing him 😞. Night davey babey, night world.

XXXXX

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb