Franz Joseph


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
April 3rd 2010
Published: April 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in franz Joseph in the early evening after yet another epic bus journey it had rained for virtually the whole journey so unsurprisingly when I got off the bus even though it was a short walk to where I was staying I still got soaked. After I was washed and dried it had cleared up nicely and so I took a short walk around the village and it was just a short walk there isn't much to village itself, returned to the hostel made some dinner and then had an early night.

Woke up to the sound of rain outside which wasn't much of a surprise but did put a dent what I had planned to do. Anyway I braved the rain and went out and walked to the glacier, the reason everyone comes hear, the walk there took quite a while as I took a few detours on the way into the forrests, shot to the point Thats closest you can get to it without shelling out a small fortune to take a guided walk on it, and it is. Very impressive site, I sat on a rock facing it and had my lunch before walking back to the village, it started raining quite heavily on the way back so needless to say it took me certainly less time to walk back. Even with the rain it turned out to be a nice day, and then I had a few drinks with some people in the hostel before another quite early night, lots of walking today and another 7 o'clock bus in the morning to queenstown, it seemed the sensible thing to do

Advertisement



10th April 2010

Queen's Town?
Sounds like a place full of gay bars ! Still following your blog from time to time, sounds like you are having a great time, from facebook believe you are playing gods game at the begining of their season, good luck with that! All the best, T.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb